Indian spinner Yuzvendra Chahal rose to prominence on the back of his stellar performances in the Indian T20 League. Representing Team Bangalore under skipper Virat Kohli, Chahal grew leaps and bounds as a bowler before making his debut for the national team.

His spells are generally characterised by his courageous bowling mixed with subtle variations. The fact that he has played a lot of his T20 franchise cricket in the relatively small and batting-friendly M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore played a huge role in his development.

Known for bowling with flight in his bid to entice batsmen to go for big shots, Chahal boasts 229 wickets in T20s at an average of 24.67 which showcases his knack of collecting wickets in heaps. His T20I numbers read 63 wickets from 49 matches at an average of 25.30.

Chahal is currently ninth in the list of wicket-takers in the Indian T20 League with 127 scalps from 108 matches.

Batsmen dismissed most number of times by Yuzvendra Chahal in T20 cricket

Glenn Maxwell has found his nemesis in Chahal having fallen victim to the  Indian spinner five times. However, the Australian won’t need to worry about Chahal in the ongoing edition of Indian T20 League since the two are teammates at present.

Another explosive batsman who the leg-spinner has got the better of several times is West Indian Kieron Pollard. Chahal has dismissed Pollard five times, which is just as many times he’s gotten Sanju Samson out as well. 


Number of dismissals

Glenn Maxwell


Kieron Pollard


Sanju Samson


Jason Roy


Mayank Agarwal


Manish Pandey


Quinton de Kock


Going by the records, it is quite evident that Chahal has a tendency of getting rid of some of the most dangerous and explosive batsmen in world cricket, making him unique in the sense that he thrives under pressure situations, where others generally fail.

Featured photo : Money Sharma / AFP