The MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, also known as Chepauk, has been a prominent name in cricket since the inception of the Presidency matches in 1916.

From the first-ever Ranji Trophy match being played in the venue in 1934, to India’s first Test win in 1951-52 when they defeated England, the MA Chidambaram Stadium has hosted some historic matches and seen some memorable records being created over the years.

Though Chepauk has accommodated only two T20 internationals in all these years, the iconic stadium has hosted close to 50 Indian T20 League matches already and is the fortress of the MS Dhoni-led Team Chennai.

Here's a closer look at all the 20-over records at the venue.

MA Chidambaram T20I records

Highest Total: The highest total of 182 at the ground was made by India while playing against West Indies in 2018. After the West Indies team had given a target of 181 runs while opting to bat first, India had chased it down in exactly 20 overs to win the match by six wickets

Lowest Total: The lowest total on the ground was made by India (166 runs) as well, during their clash with New Zealand in 2012. After New Zealand had set up a target of 167 after batting first, the Indian cricket team made 166 runs and lost the match by one run.

Highest Score: The highest individual T20 score at this venue is 92, scored by India's Shikhar Dhawan when he faced West Indies in 2018. His innings, which included 10 boundaries and three sixes, is also the highest run-scorer in a single match in the stadium.

Best Bowling: India's Irfan Pathan has recorded the best bowling figures of 3/31 at the MA Chidambaram Stadium against New Zealand in 2012.

Highest partnership: The highest partnership in Chepauk is the 130-run stand by India's Shikhar Dhawan and Rishabh Pant against the West Indies in 2018. It was a third-wicket partnership.

MA Chidambaram Indian T20 League records

Most runs: Suresh Raina has the most number of runs in Chepauk. The southpaw has played 56 matches in the venue, tallying 1,498 runs with eight half-centuries and one century to his name. He is followed by MS Dhoni (1,375) and Murali Vijay (928).

Most wickets: Indian spinner Ravichandran Ashwin is the bowler with the most wickets in the Indian T20 League at this venue. He's taken 46 wickets on this ground with best bowling figures of 3/16. 

Highest total: The highest total in the Indian T20 League at this venue was made by Team Chennai against Team Rajasthan in 2010. They scored 246/5 batting first and successfully defended their total by restricting Team Rajasthan to 223/5.

Lowest total: The lowest team total at this venue was made by Team Bangalore during the 2019 edition of the Indian T20 League. They scored 70 before being bundled out and Team Chennai chased down the target with seven wickets and 14 balls to spare.

Highest individual score: Murali Vijay holds the distinction of having the highest individual score on this ground in the Indian T20 League. The same game that saw Team Chennai post the highest team total at this venue also witnessed Murali Vijay smash a 56-ball 127 as the hosts registered a 23-run win.

Best bowling figures: Andre Russell boasts the best bowling figures at the Chepauk stadium in the Indian T20 League. While representing Team Kolkata against Team Mumbai in 2021, Russell finished with figures of 5/15 in just two overs to bundle out the opposition for 152. However, his effort wasn't enough to secure a win as Team Mumbai won the match by 10 runs.

Highest partnership: Murali Vijay and Michael Hussey's 159-run stand for Team Chennai against Team Bangalore during Indian T20 League 2011 is the highest partnership on this ground. Their partnership helped Team Chennai post 205/5 before restricting Team Bangalore to 147/8 to register a 58-run win.

Highest successful chase: Team Chennai pulled off the highest successful chase against Team Bangalore during the 2012 edition of the Indian T20 League. Chasing a target of 206, Faf du Plessis made 71 off 46 and MS Dhoni managed 41 from 24 balls to help Team Chennai to 208/5 at the end of their 20 overs.

Written by: Subhayan Dutta

Feature Image Courtesy: AFP/ Arun Sankar