Did you know there are only two players who have won the Purple Cap twice in IPL!

Article Detail

The Indian Premier League, since its inception in 2008, has been a bystander to some of the most breathtaking bowling performances over the years. Right from Lasith Malinga’s inch-perfect yorkers to Imran Tahir’s googlies, the spectators have been duly entertained by something extremely miraculous.

The nature of the league or the format per se is such that you are bound to stay connected right till the end. But what makes IPL even more interesting is the fight to win the individual awards. In context, the Indian Premier League honours the bowler with the most number of wickets with a Purple Cap at the end of every season. And now that we are into the 13th edition, here we give you the list of every Purple Cap winner.

Read | IPL 2020 postponed to April 15

2008: Sohail Tanvir (Rajasthan Royals)

Pakistani players played only the inaugural season of the IPL, and that was enough for Sohail Tanvir to assert his claim. Representing Rajasthan Royals in 2008, the left-arm pacer played a key role in his side’s route to the final. During the course, he picked 22 wickets in 11 games at an impressive average of 12.09.

2009: RP Singh (Deccan Chargers)

RP Singh was an absolute revelation in the second edition of the tournament. Applauded for his mesmerizing in-swingers and an ability to find a gap between the pad and the bat, he notched up 23 wickets in 16 games to earn the Purple Cap that year.

2010: Pragyan Ojha (Deccan Chargers)

After two mediocre seasons, left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha finally burst onto the scene in 2010 with a blistering performance for Deccan Chargers. Picking up 21 wickets in 16 games that year, he not only won the Purple Cap but also won the hearts of many.

Read | Coronavirus outbreak: Foreign players not available for IPL till April 15

2011: Lasith  Malinga (Mumbai Indians)

Four-time Indian Premier League winner with Mumbai Indians, Lasith Malinga won the Purple Cap in only his third season of the tournament. In 2011, the Sri Lankan pacer returned with a total of 28 wickets in 16 games at a mere economy of 5.95.  

2012: Morne Morkel (Delhi Daredevils)

Delhi Daredevils, now known as Delhi Capitals, have always been known for the strong overseas bowling core. In 2012, Morne Morkel delivered what was promised as he went on to pick 25 wickets in 16 games, but that, unfortunately, wasn’t enough as his side crashed out of the play-offs stage.

2013: Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings)

In 2013, Chennai Super Kings made it to their second consecutive IPL final. While their batting was top-notch that year, their bowling contingent oozed similar confidence and a certain Dwayne Bravo was at the pinnacle of it. The West Indies all-rounder picked a whopping 32 wickets to win his first Purple Cap of the Indian Premier League. His figures in 2013 remain the best for any bowler in a single IPL season.

Read | IPL 2020: Delhi Capitals pacer Chris Woakes pulls out of IPL

2014: Mohit Sharma (Chennai Super Kings)

Mohit Sharma arguably remains one of the finest finds of the Indian Premier League. In 2014, the medium-pacer topped the bowling charts after picking 23 wickets in 16 games for Chennai Super Kings.

2015: Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings)

For the third time running, a Chennai Super Kings bowler emerged as the highest wicket-taker of the Indian Premier League. In 2015, Dwayne Bravo became the first player to win the Purple Cap twice after he scalped 26 wickets in 17 games to take his team all the way to the final. He even took the joint-most catches -13 - in that edition.

2016: Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Bhuvneshwar Kumar was a headache for the opposition batsmen in 2016. Playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad, his perfect line and length culminated in him picking 23 wickets in 17 games at an economy of 7.42 to win the Purple Cap that year.

Read | IPL 2020: Team owners write letter to BCCI opposing last-minute changes

2017: Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Sunrisers Hyderabad failed to defend their title in 2017, but Bhuvneshwar Kumar once again topped the wicket-taking chart, becoming only the second player to win two Purple Caps. That year, he picked 26 wickets in just 14 games.

2018: Andrew Tye (Kings XI Punjab)

Australian pacer Andrew Tye impressed one and all with his breathtaking performance in the 2018 edition of the tournament. That year, his three four-wicket hauls took his total tally to 24 wickets in just 14 games, which was enough to have a Purple Cap on his head. 

2019: Imran Tahir (Chennai Super Kings)

Known for his extravagant celebrations, South African spinner Imran Tahir defeated his fellow countryman Kagiso Rabada to win the Purple Cap in 2019 after picking 26 wickets in 17 games at an economy rate of 6.69.

Read | IPL 2020: Year by year list of Orange Cap holders

Feature image courtesy: AFP / Arun Sankar