A stellar bowling display followed by a measured chase saw Mumbai beat Delhi and clinch their fifth Indian T20 League final and second on the trot.

Here are the key talking points from the contest.

Cometh the hour, cometh the captain

With just 53 runs in his last five matches at a strike rate of just 82.81, Rohit Sharma was due a big knock and the Mumbai skipper delivered when it mattered most. Smashing a brilliant 68 off 51 balls, he guided his side to victory. Sharma hit five boundaries and four sixes in his sensational match-winning knock.

A valiant knock from the other skipper

Having come in to bat at 16-2, Delhi needed one of their batsmen to step up and play through the innings and captain Shreyas Iyer did just that, scoring 65 off 50 balls to help Delhi post a decent total on the scoreboard. Iyer hit six boundaries and two sixes in a typically classy knock but it proved to be futile as Mumbai, anchored by skipper Sharma, chased the total down with ease. A tough break but nonetheless an incredible knock from Iyer.

Bamboozled by Boult

Mumbai pacer Trent Boult bowled two sensational overs in Qualifier 1, picking up two wickets and giving away just nine runs, but an injury ruled him out for the rest of the contest and posed a question mark over his involvement in the final. But the Kiwi was declared fit and made an instant impact, picking a wicket on the first ball of the match, dismissing the in-form Marcus Stoinis. He then added a couple of more scalps to his tally, finishing with figures of 3-30 in his four overs, capping off a brilliant season with another sensational display.

A fabulous fifth

With this win, Mumbai became the first team in eight years and only the second in Indian T20 League history to repeat as champions. This was also their fifth title, putting them two clear of next-best Chennai, who were the last team to win the title. Rohit Sharma improved on his own record of the player with the most titles, winning his sixth, one with Hyderabad and five with Mumbai.

Feature image courtesy: Twitter.com / Indian T20 League