Advertisement

The year 2022 hasn’t been the greatest for the Indian cricket team as far as the results are concerned. 

Even though a few positive outcomes in the bilateral series and frequent Suryakumar Yadav fireworks kept the fans entertained, their performance in the Asia Cup and the T20 World Cup yet again questioned India’s credentials on the global stage. 

Nonetheless, looking forward to starting afresh, Team India is slated for a busy start to their 2023 season as they will be involved in three bilateral series at home for the first three months, beginning with hosting Sri Lanka for a limited-overs series.

Sri Lanka tour of India 2023 schedule

Day and Date Match Venue Time
Tuesday, January 3 1st T20I Mumbai 7:00 PM
Thursday, January 5 2nd T20I Pune 7:00 PM
Saturday, January 7 3rd T20I Rajkot 7:00 PM
Tuesday, January 10 1st ODI Guwahati 2:00 PM
Thursday, January 12 2nd ODI Kolkata 2:00 PM
Sunday, January 15 3rd ODI Thiruvananthapuram 2:00 PM

The Sri Lanka tour of India 2023, consisting of three T20Is and as many ODIs, will begin on January 3 with the first T20I scheduled to be staged at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

The teams will then travel to Pune and Rajkot for the remaining two T20Is followed by three ODIs at Guwahati, Kolkata and Thiruvananthapuram. The tour will conclude on January 15.

New Zealand tour of India 2023 schedule

Day and Date Match Venue Time
Wednesday, January 18 1st ODI Hyderabad 10:00 AM
Saturday, January 21 2nd ODI Raipur 10:00 AM
Tuesday, January 24 3rd ODI Indore 10:00 AM
Friday, January 27 1st T20I Ranchi 7:00 PM
Sunday, January 29 2nd T20I Lucknow 7:00 PM
Wednesday, February 1 3rd T20I Ahmedabad 7:00 PM

Three days after the  Sri Lanka series, the New Zealand tour of India 2023 will commence on January 18 with a similar schedule as that of the Sri Lanka series. However, the two sides will play three ODIs first followed by three T20Is.

While the three One Day Internationals will take place at Hyderabad, Raipur and Indore, the three T20Is will be played at Ranchi, Lucknow and Ahmedabad.

Australia tour of India 2023 schedule

Day and Date Match Venue Time
Thursday, February 9 1st Test Nagpur 9:30 AM
Friday, February 17 2nd Test Delhi 9:30 AM
Wednesday, March 1 3rd Test Dharamshala 9:30 AM
Thursday, March 9 4th Test Ahmedabad 9:30 AM
Friday, March 17 1st ODI Mumbai 10:00 AM
Sunday, March 19 2nd ODI Visakhapatnam 10:00 AM
Wednesday, March 22 3rd ODI Chennai 10:00 AM

The much anticipated Border-Gavaskar Trophy between India and Australia will flag off on February 9 with the first Test being played at Nagpur. The teams will then travel to Delhi, Dharamsala and Ahmedabad for the remaining three Tests.

These matches will also be India’s last chance to make it to the World Test Championship 2021-23 final, with the visitors already in a strong position to play their maiden summit clash to be staged at The Oval in June 2023. The Test series will be followed by three ODIs.

Considering the crunch schedule, one can expect plenty of rotations in the squads that will be announced for each series keeping in mind players’ workload management.

Later in the year, the Rahul Dravid-coached side will play more limited-overs and multi-format series with different teams along with the ICC World Cup 2023, which is scheduled to take place in India in October.

As far as the Asia Cup 2023 is concerned, India’s participation status remains uncertain. With Pakistan being the host nation, Team India is reluctant to travel due to the ongoing tensions between the two countries.

 

Photo credit: Alamy

Advertisement