Legendary Jonty Rhodes is being considered as Indian cricket team’s new fielding coach, according to reports.

The development of Jonty Rhodes’ appointment as India’s new fielding coach comes after the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is in the final stages to make an overhaul in the Indian team management after the T20 World Cup 2024 in the West Indies and the United States.

Former India cricketer Gautam Gambhir is currently leading the race to replace Rahul Dravid as India’s new head coach.

The report states that Gautam Gambhir has approached Jonty Rhodes to become a part of his support staff provided he bags the coveted job.

Gambhir is likely to bring his own support staff just like Rahul Dravid brought Paras Mhambrey (bowling coach) and T Dilip along with him.

Rhodes is currently the fielding coach of the Lucknow franchise in the Indian T20 League. He is also the fielding coach of the Durban franchise in the SA20 as well as the consultant fielding coach of the Sri Lanka national cricket team. 

Previously, Gambhir and Rhodes have worked together for the Lucknow franchise. Earlier, the former Proteas cricketer was associated with five-time Indian T20 League winners Mumbai.

While Rhodes is yet to be formally approached by the BCCI, the legendary fielder previously applied for the role of India’s fielding coach in 2019.

However, he was not shortlisted as then head coach Ravi Shastri preferred Ramakrishnan Sridhar in order to keep his core team intact which also included B Arun as the bowling coach and Sridhar as the fielding coach.

If Gambhir is appointed India’s new head coach, Rhodes could replace T Dilip as India’s next fielding coach after the T20 World Cup 2024.

T Dilip has grabbed the headlines for his inspirational dressing room speeches and innovative fielding ceremonies in the ICC ODI World Cup 2023.

With that being said, let’s have a look at the Indian cricket team fielding coaches list since 2007.

Indian cricket team fielding coaches: Full list since 2007

India fielding coach



T Dilip



Ramakrishnan Sridhar



Trevor Penney



Robin Singh



Photo credit: Alamy