The India vs Australia T20I history began with their first-ever meeting at the ICC T20 World Cup 2007 in Durban, South Africa.

Led by captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, India defeated Australia by 15 runs in the semi-finals of the inaugural edition of the ICC T20 World Cup.

Since then, India and Australia have played 26 T20 internationals against each other. 

The Men in Blue have a superior head-to-head record against the Aussies in T20I cricket, winning 16 of the 27 matches that they have contested so far. Australia have registered 10 victories while one match ended in no result.

Both the sides have registered numerous records during their T20 international battles and here we take a closer look at some of those India vs Australia T20I records and stats.

India vs Australia T20I records and stats

Highest team total

The Australian cricket team holds the record for the highest team total in India vs Australia T20Is. During the first T20I of Australia’s tour of India in 2022, the Aaron Finch-led visitors recorded 211/6 while chasing 209 in Mohali. Australia rode on opener Cameron Green’s 30-ball 61 and Matthew Wade’s unbeaten 45 off 21 balls to chase down the required target in 19.2 overs. Earlier, KL Rahul’s 35-ball 55 and Hardik Pandya’s 71 not out off 30 balls powered India to 208/6 in their allotted 20 overs. Despite the defeat, India won the three-match T20I series 2-1.

Lowest team total

The Indian cricket team registered the lowest team total in India vs Australia T20 internationals. Electing to bat first, the MS Dhoni-led side were bowled out for 74 in 17.3 overs during the only T20I of India’s tour of Australia in 2008 in Melbourne. All-rounder Irfan Pathan was the top-scorer with 26 off 30 balls. For Australia, Nathan Bracken picked three wickets while Adam Voges bagged two scalps. Australia later chased down the target in 11.2 overs with nine wickets in hand.

Most runs

Virat Kohli holds the record for the most runs in India vs Australia T20Is. The former India captain has amassed 794 runs in 22 T20 matches at an average of 52.93 and a strike rate of 143.84 against the Aussies. Kohli has slammed eight fifties against Australia in the T20I format. He registered his highest score of 90 not out off 55 balls against the Aussies in the first T20I of India’s tour of Australia in 2016 in Adelaide.

Most wickets

India’s Jasprit Bumrah has picked the most wickets in this high-profile T20I fixture. The right-arm fast bowler has bagged 16 wickets in 13 T20I matches against Australia at an average of 23.43 and an economy of 8.06. For Australia, leg-spinner Adam Zampa has the most wickets against India in T20I cricket. Zampa has claimed 12 wickets in 14 T20Is at an impressive economy of 6.93.

Highest individual score

Former all-rounder Shane Watson holds the record for the highest individual score in India vs Australia T20Is. Shane Watson scored an unbeaten 124 off just 71 balls during the third T20I of India’s tour of Australia in 2016 in Sydney. His magnificent innings was laced with 10 fours and six maximums. Watson’s scintillating hundred helped Australia post 197/5 in their 20 overs. However, India later successfully chased down the target with seven wickets in hand to seal the three-match series 3-0.

Best bowling figures

India’s Ravichandran Ashwin has the best bowling figures in this T20I fixture. During a Group 2 clash in the ICC World T20 2014 in Mirpur, Ashwin recorded figures of 4/11 to help India bowl out Australia for 86 in 16.2 overs while defending 159. The right-arm off-spinner bagged the wickets of Aaron Finch, David Warner, Glenn Maxwell and James Muirhead. Earlier, India posted 159/7 in their 20 overs.

Highest partnership

Virat Kohli and Suresh Raina hold the record for the highest partnership in India vs Australia T20Is. During the first T20I of India’s tour of Australia in 2016, Kohli and Raina forged a 134-run stand for the third wicket to guide the visitors to 188/3 in their 20 overs in Adelaide. Kohli scored 90 not out, while Raina departed for 41. India won the match by 37 runs to take a 1-0 lead in the three-match series. 

Photo credit: Alamy