The Rohit Sharma-led Indian cricket team will lock horns with arch-rivals Pakistan in their opening match of Asia Cup 2022 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Sunday, August 28.

Placed in Group A, India and Pakistan could square off against each other as many as three times in the upcoming edition of the continental showpiece event.

The two arch-rivals faced each other for the first time in the Asia Cup in the inaugural edition of the tournament in 1984. Under the leadership of Sunil Gavaskar, India beat Pakistan by 54 runs in Sharjah during the inaugural edition of the continental tournament. India also beat Sri Lanka during this edition and won both their matches as they clinched the first Asia Cup in 1984.

Since then, India have dominated Pakistan during the 14 editions of the Asia Cup. The Men in Blue have won eight of the 14 matches that they have played against rivals Pakistan in the marquee Asian event. Pakistan have managed just five victories while one match ended in no result.

In the T20I format, India and Pakistan have clashed only once in Asia Cup history, where an MS Dhoni-led side secured a commanding five-wicket win at the Sher-E-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Bangladesh in 2016.

Ahead of the 15th edition of the Asia Cup, here’s a look at some of the most memorable India vs Pakistan clashes in the continental showpiece event.

King Kohli powers India to a stunning win in Mirpur - 2016

An all-round bowling performance followed by a match-winning knock by Virat Kohli helped India beat Pakistan by five wickets in the inaugural T20I edition of the Asia Cup at the Sher-E-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur in 2016. 

After India captain MS Dhoni won the toss and opted to field, the Men in Blue rode on a clinical bowling show to bundle out Pakistan for 83 in 17.3 overs. Star all-rounder Hardik Pandya was the wrecker-in-chief for India as he picked three wickets for just eight runs in his 3.3 overs. 


In reply, India lost openers Rohit Sharma (0), Ajinkya Rahane (0) and Suresh Raina (1) as they were left reeling at 8/3 in 2.4 overs. At the other end, talisman Virat Kohli played masterful innings of 49 off 51 balls and Yuvraj Singh’s unbeaten 14 powered India to a commanding victory as they chased down the total with 27 balls to spare.

Harbhajan Singh shines with the bat as India pip Pakistan in a last-over thriller - 2010

Led by captain MS Dhoni, India defeated Pakistan in a thrilling last-over during an Asia Cup clash in Dambulla in 2010.

Opting to bat, Salman Butt’s 74 off 85 balls and wicket-keeper batter Kamran Akmal’s 41-ball 51 helped Pakistan post 267 before being bowled out in 49.3 overs.

In response, twin fifties from opener Gautam Gambhir (83) and MS Dhoni (56) kept India in the run chase. However, the Men in Blue went to lose with Rohit Sharma, Dhoni and Ravindra Jadeja in quick succession, which made the run-chase difficult.

In the end, though, India’s Harbhajan Singh smashed an unbeaten 15 off 11 balls to stun the Pakistan bowlers and secure a memorable three-wicket win in Sri Lanka with one ball to spare.

Kohli’s scintillating ton guides India to an epic run-chase in Dhaka - 2012

Virat Kohli registered his highest ODI score to help India beat Pakistan by six wickets in a high-scoring encounter during an Asia Cup group match in Mirpur in 2012.

Electing to bat first, Pakistan rode on centuries from openers Mohammad Hafeez (105), Nasir Jamshed (112) and Younis Khan’s 34-ball 52 to post a mammoth 329/6 in their allotted 50 overs.

Chasing a steep target, India suffered a massive blow as opening batter Gautam Gambhir was dismissed in the second ball of the run-chase.

From thereon, Virat Kohli smashed a 148-ball 183 while Sachin Tendulkar (52) and Rohit Sharma (68) hit fifties to help India chase down the total in 47.5 overs.


Shahid Afridi’s heroics guide Pakistan to epic win in Mirpur - 2014

A blitzkrieg knock (34 runs off 18 balls) from star all-rounder Shahid Afridi helped Pakistan stun India by one wicket in a last-over thriller during an Asia Cup clash in Mirpur in 2014.

Chasing a competitive target of 246, Pakistan lost wickets at regular intervals as they headed towards another loss and were struggling at 236/9 in 49.1 overs.

However, Afridi had other ideas as he clobbered two sixes against Ravichandran Ashwin in the final over to secure an epic one-wicket win against rivals India in Bangladesh.

Earlier, fifties from Rohit Sharma (56), Ambati Rayudu (58) and Ravindra Jadeja (52*) had powered India to 245/8 in their 50 overs.

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.