The Mohali Stadium is one of India’s renowned cricket grounds located in Mohali, Punjab.

Also known as Inderjit Singh Bindra Stadium, the venue is named after former BCCI president and former PCA president Inderjit Singh Bindra. 

The Mohali stadium was designed by Ar. Arun Loomba and Associates, and constructed by Chandigarh-based R.S. Construction Company.

Established in 1993, the Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium features world-class practice facilities, spectator-friendly outlook and excellent provisions for the media.

It is the home ground of the Indian cricket team, the Punjab cricket team and the Punjab-based franchise in the Indian T20 League.

In the 1990s and 2000s, the pitch at the Mohali Stadium had the reputation of being the liveliest in the country. However, it has become batting friendly in recent years.

The Mohali Stadium staged its first international match, a One-Day International (ODI) between India and South Africa in 1993. The Mohammad Azharuddin-led India won by 43 runs. 

It hosted its first Test played between hosts India and West Indies in December 1994.

The stadium later staged its first T20 international played between India and Sri Lanka in December 2009. India won the game by six wickets.

Since then, it has hosted six T20 internationals so far. Let’s have a look at Mohali Stadium T20I records and stats:

Mohali Stadium T20I records and stats

Highest team total

The Indian cricket team holds the record for the highest team total at the Mohali Stadium in T20I cricket. During the second T20I of Sri Lanka’s tour of India in 2009, the MS Dhoni-led hosts scored 211/4 in reply to the visitors’ 206/7. Chasing 207, India rode on Virender Sehwag’s 36-ball 64, Yuvraj Singh’s unbeaten 60 off 25 balls and MS Dhoni’s 46 to successfully chase down the target in 19.1 overs. Earlier, captain Kumar Sangakkara’s 59 along with contributions from Chinthaka Jayasinghe (38) and Sanath Jayasuriya (31) powered Sri Lanka to a 200-plus total on the board. With the six-wicket win, India levelled the two-match series 1-1.

Lowest team total

The South Africa cricket team registered the lowest team total at the Mohali Stadium in the T20I format. Electing to field first, the hosts restricted South Africa to 149/5 in their 20 overs in the second T20I in September 2019. Captain Quinton de Kock top-scored for South Africa with 52 off 37 balls. For India, Deepak Chahar was the standout bowler with two wickets for 22 runs. Skipper Virat Kohli later scored 72 off 52 balls to help the hosts chase down the target in 19 overs. The three-match T20I series ended 1-1.

Most runs

India’s star batter Virat Kohli has scored the most runs at this cricket venue in T20I cricket. Between 2016 and 2022, the right-handed batter has accumulated 156 runs in three matches at an average of 156 and a strike rate of 141.81. He has slammed two T20I fifties on this ground. Australia’s Steve Smith is second on the list with 98 runs in three matches.

Most wickets

Australia fast bowler James Faulkner has bagged the most wickets at the Mohali Stadium in T20I cricket. The left-arm pacer scalped six wickets in two matches at an average of 10.33 and an economy of 8.65. He registered best bowling figures of 5/27 on this ground in the T20I format. Former Indian all-rounder Yuvraj Singh features second on the list with four wickets in two matches.

Highest individual score

Virat Kohli registered the highest individual score at this venue in the T20I format. During a Super 10 clash in the T20 World Cup 2016, Kohli scored an unbeaten 82 off just 51 balls to help India chase down 161 in 19.1 overs. Kohli’s match-winning knock included nine fours and two maximums. Earlier, India had restricted Australia to 160/6 in their allotted 20 overs.

Best bowling figures

James Faulkner holds the record for the best bowling figures at the Mohali Stadium in T20I cricket. Defending 193, James Faulkner recorded match-winning figures of 5/27 against Pakistan during a Super 10 clash in the T20 World Cup 2016. Faulkner dismissed Sharjeel Khan, Khalid Latif, Imad Wasim, Sarfaraz Ahmed and Wahab Riaz to help restrict Pakistan to 172/8 in their 20 overs. With the help of Faulkner’s magnificent spell, Australia won the match by 21 runs.

Highest partnership

Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara and Sanath Jayasuriya hold the record for the highest partnership at the Mohali Stadium in the T20I format. Electing to bat first, Sanath Jayasuriya and Kumar Sangakkara forged a brilliant 81-run stand for the second wicket against the Men in Blue during the second T20I of Sri Lanka’s tour of India in 2009. Captain Sangakkara slammed 59 off 31 balls while Jayasuriya scored 31 to power Sri Lanka to 206/7 in their 20 overs. In reply, India chased down the target in 19.1 overs with six wickets in hand.

Photo credit: Alamy