The ICC Women’s World Cup is the oldest world championship in the sport, and is currently organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The first edition was played in England in 1973 with seven teams.

The Women’s World Cup was held at irregular intervals between 1973 and 2000, but from 2005 onwards, every edition has been played with a four-year gap between tournaments.

The Australia women’s cricket team dominate the Women’s World Cup winners list, with a record seven titles (1978, 1982, 1988, 1997, 2005, 2013 and 2022). They are also the only team to win three editions in a row.

England are second on the Women’s World Cup winners list, with four titles. They hosted and won the inaugural Women’s World Cup, under the captaincy of Rachael Heyhoe Flint. England are the only side to host and win a Women’s World Cup on three or more occasions (1973, 1993 and 2017).

The New Zealand women’s cricket team are the third and final team to have won the Women’s World Cup. The Kiwis, under the leadership of Emily Drumm, emulated Australia and England to host and win a Women’s World Cup title in 2000.

The Indian women’s cricket team, who made their Women’s World Cup debut as hosts of the 1978 Women’s World Cup, have played in nine editions and their best results so far have been runners-up finishes in 2005 and 2017.

ICC Women’s World Cup winners list: Know all the champions

Year Winner Runners-up Host
1973 England Australia England
1978 Australia England India
1982 Australia England New Zealand
1988 Australia England Australia
1993 England New Zealand England
1997 Australia New Zealand India
2000 New Zealand Australia New Zealand
2005 Australia India South Africa
2009 England New Zealand Australia
2013 Australia West Indies India
2017 England India England
2022 Australia England New Zealand

Author: William Paul

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates from the world of sports!

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: AFP / Sanka VIDANAGAMA