Tamil Nadu batter Narayan Jagadeesan smashed a scintillating 141-ball 277 against Arunachal Pradesh in a group phase match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 on November 21 to record the highest individual score in List A cricket history.

Jagadeesan opened the batting for the Tamil Nadu side against Arunachal Pradesh in a group-stage match. The 26-year-old batter took the opposition bowlers to the cleaners, helping his team post 506/2 - the highest team score in List A cricket

In an innings which witnessed 25 fours and 15 maximums, Jagadeesan etched his name in the record books, as he also became the first player to score five consecutive centuries in the 50-over format.

Courtesy his 277, Narayan Jagadeesan broke the long-standing record held by Alistair Brown, who had held the perch since 2002. Brown scored a 160-ball 268, laced with 30 fours and 12 sixes,  while playing for Surrey in the Cheltenham & Gloucester Trophy in England’s First Class domestic circuit.

The encounter, which saw a total of 867 runs scored over two innings saw Ali’s Surrey team get the better of Glamorgan by nine runs in a thriller.

Team India veteran Rohit Sharma is third on the list of players with the highest individual scores in List A cricket.

Rohit went berserk in the fourth ODI of the Sri Lanka tour of India 2014 to score 173-ball 264 with the help of 33 fours and nine maximums, which is also the highest individual score in one-day internationals.

ODIs, domestic competition matches, where the number of overs in an innings per team is between forty and sixty, and 50-over matches involving countries who have not achieved the official ODI status from the International Cricket Council (ICC) are all classified under List A cricket.

Australian batter D'Arcy Short stands fourth on the list of players with the highest individual scores in List A cricket.

In a JLT One-Day Cup match 2018 match, both the Western Australia openers were dismissed cheaply. D'Arcy Short stepped in to steady the ship and played a devastating innings of 257 off 148 balls, featuring 15 fours and an astonishing 23 sixes, to help his team reach 387.

Thereafter, Andrew Tye’s six-wicket haul rattled Queensland, who were bundled out for 271 and Western Australia emerged victorious by 116 runs.

Another Indian to make it to the group of players with the highest individual scores in List A cricket is Shikhar Dhawan.

Shortly after making his memorable Test debut against Australia in March 2013, Dhawan was selected for India A team to play in a tri-Series in August later that year.

In the sixth match of that series, the southpaw found himself at his free-flowing best, scoring a destructive 150-ball 248, which guided India A to a 39-run win over South Africa A.

Highest individual score in List A cricket

Player Score Team Opponent Tournament/Series Year
Narayan Jagadeesan 277 Tamil Nadu Arunachal Pradesh Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022
Alistair Brown 268 Surrey Glamorgan Cheltenham & Gloucester Trophy 2002
Rohit Sharma 264 India Sri Lanka Sri Lanka tour of India 2014
D'Arcy Short 257 Western Australia Queensland JLT One-Day Cup 2018
Shikhar Dhawan 248 India A South Africa A South Africa A Team Tri-Series 2013
Martin Guptill 237* New Zealand West Indies ICC World Cup 2015
Travis Head 230 South Australia Queensland The Marsh Cup 2021
Ben Dunk 229* Tasmania Queensland Matador's BBQs One-Day Cup 2014
Prithvi Shaw 227* Mumbai Puducherry Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021
Graeme Pollock 222* Eastern Province Border Gillette Cup 1974


Featured Image: AFP