The fast-paced and high-scoring nature of T20 matches means that players tend to attack bowlers in search of runs right from the outset of a match.

One of the phases where players can maximise the amount of runs they score is during the powerplay.

In T20 cricket, the powerplay is a set of overs where more fielding restrictions apply, making it easier for batting teams to score quick runs.

The powerplay overs in 20-over cricket are in effect for the first six overs of each inning in T20s where only two fielders are allowed outside the 30-yard circle during this phase.

The rest of the nine players, including the bowler and the wicketkeeper have to stay inside the inner circle during the powerplay phase. 

In case there are more than the two allotted fielders outside the 30-yard circle in the powerplay period, the umpires are compelled to signal for a no-ball due to it and give the batting side a free hit.

With that in mind, let’s take a look at the highest powerplay team score in T20s.

Highest powerplay team score in T20s

Team Opponent Powerplay score Tournament Year
Nottinghamshire Durham 106 NatWest T20 Blast 2017
Kolkata Bengaluru 105 Indian T20 League 2017
St Kitts And Nevis Patriots Barbados Tridents 105 Caribbean Premier League 2017
South Africa West Indies 102 Three-match series 2023
Chennai Punjab 100 Indian T20 League 2014

Nottinghamshire’s 106 vs Durham in 2017

In a NatWest T20 Blast match between Nottinghamshire and Durham in 2017, the former went on to score a whopping 106 runs in the powerplay. Set a target of 184 to chase by Durham, Nottinghamshire’s Riki Wessels and Alex Hales let loose from the start with the latter donning the role of the aggressor. The duo combined to put on 106 runs in the first six overs, which is the highest powerplay team score in T20s. Wessels and Hales scored their runs at a strike rate of 242.50 with the overall run rate of the team reading 17.66 in the powerplay. Their opening partnership set up a five-wicket win for Nottinghamshire with Hales eventually being dismissed for a 30-ball 95 and Wessels remained unbeaten on 41.

Kolkata’s 105 vs Bengaluru in 2017

The second-highest powerplay team score in T20s is made by Kolkata against Bengaluru in Indian T20 League 2017. During match 46 of Indian T20 League 2017, Kolkata were set a target of 159 to chase by Bengaluru. The two-time Indian T20 League champions went on to make light work of the chase as they reached the target with six wickets and 29 balls to spare thanks in part to Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine’s 105-run stand in the first six overs. Narine was dismissed for a 17-ball 54 just after the end of the powerplay, while Lynn made 50 off 22 deliveries before eventually being dismissed.

St Kitts And Nevis Patriots’ 105 vs Barbados Tridents in 2017

Match 30 of Caribbean Premier League 2017 witnessed St Kitts And Nevis Patriots make 105 against Barbados Tridents. Tasked with chasing a 129-run target by Barbados Tridents, St Kitts And Nevis Patriots breezed through the run chase and wrapped up the match in just seven overs with 10 wickets to spare. The opening duo of Chris Gayle and Evin Lewis took the Barbados Tridents bowlers to the cleaners with the latter, in particular, hitting opposition bowlers to all parts of the park as they combined to make 105 runs in the powerplay. Lewis finished the match with an unbeaten 32-ball 97, while Gayle remained not out on 22 off 14 deliveries.

Photo credit: Alamy