Former West Indies cricketer Brian Lara holds the record for the highest individual score in first-class cricket.

While playing for Warwickshire, Lara smashed an unbeaten 501 against Durham in a County Championship match at the Edgbaston Cricket Ground in Birmingham in 1994.

Interestingly, it remains the only quintuple-hundred to be registered in First-Class cricket history.

Lara’s record-breaking innings was laced with 62 fours and 10 sixes. The southpaw faced 427 balls to score the quintuple-hundred while staying at the crease for seven hours and 54 minutes. Lara powered Warwickshire to 810/4 before captain Dermot Reeve declared the innings. 

Earlier, Durham had posted 556/8d courtesy John Morris’ 204 as the match ended in a draw.

Lara broke Pakistan cricketer Hanif Mohammad’s record, who scored 499 for Karachi against Bahawalpur in the semi-final of the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy in 1959.

After Bahawalpur were bowled out for 185 in their first innings, Hanif Mohammad played an incredible innings of 499 to help Karachi post 772/7d in their first innings. Mohammad’s scintillating innings included 64 fours.

Bahawalpur were once again bundled out for 108 as Karachi secured a massive win by an innings and 479 runs.

Australia cricket legend Donald Bradman features third on the list for the highest individual score in First-Class cricket.

Bradman scored an unbeaten 452 while playing for New South Wales against Queensland in a Sheffield Shield match in 1930.

After New South Wales were bowled out for 235 in their first innings, Queensland could only manage 227 in their first innings.

In the second innings, New South Wales rode on Bradman’s unbeaten 452 to post a massive score of 761/8d. Queensland were skittled out for 84 in their second innings as New South Wales claimed a 685-run victory.

India’s Bhausaheb Nimbalkar and Bill Ponsford of Australia complete the top five list for the highest individual scores in first-class cricket.

While Bhausaheb Nimbalkar smashed an unbeaten 443 for Maharashtra against Kathiawar in a Ranji Trophy encounter in 1948, Bill Ponsford scored 437 for Victoria against Queensland in a Sheffield Shield match in 1927.

After Kathiawar were bowled out for 238 in their first innings, Bhausaheb Nimbalkar’s 443 and opener Kamal Bhandarkar’s 205 powered Maharashtra to 826/4 in their first innings. Maharashtra won by default after Kathiawar forfeited the match.

 Meanwhile, Victoria rode on Bill Ponsford’s incredible innings of 437 and Stork Hendry’s 129 to help Victoria post 793 in their first innings. 

Queensland were bowled out for 189 and 407 in the two innings, respectively, as Victoria won the match by an innings and 197 runs.

Bill Ponsford had earlier scored 429 for Victoria in an Australian domestic miscellaneous first-class match against Tasmania in 1923. 

Highest individual scores in first-class cricket

Player Runs Team Against Ground Year
Brian Lara 501* Warwickshire Durham Birmingham 1994
Hanif Mohammad 499 Karachi Bahawalpur Karachi 1959
Donald Bradman 452* New South Wales Queensland Sydney 1930
Bhausaheb Nimbalkar 443* Maharashtra Kathiawar Pune 1948
Bill Ponsford 437 Victoria Queensland Melbourne 1927
Bill Ponsford 429 Victoria Tasmania Melbourne 1923
Aftab Baloch 428 Sind Baluchistan Karachi 1974
AC MacLaren 424 Lancashire Somerset Taunton 1895
Sam Northeast 410* Glamorgan Leicestershire Leicester 2022
Graeme Hick 405* WORCS Somerset Taunton 1988
Brian Lara 400* West Indies England St John's 2004

Play fantasy cricket with SportsAdda. Create your team, track your progress and win prizes. Start here.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates from the world of sports!

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites

Featured photo: ICC