England cricket team batter Dawid Malan holds the record for the fastest to 1000 runs in T20I cricket. The swashbuckling left-hander took just 24 T20 internationals to reach 1000 runs in T20Is and he did so against India in Ahmedabad in March 2021.

Malan reached the 1000-run mark in T20Is in three years and 268 days after his debut for England in the 20-over format.

After beginning his T20I career with England in June 2016 with successive fifties, Malan never quite looked back. 

A picture of consistency in arguably a format where consistency is a rare thing, Malan managed 10 fifties and one century in his first 24 matches to score 1000 runs for the Three Lions in T20s.

Malan’s consistency in his first 24 T20 games was further accentuated by his numbers at the time which read 1003 runs in 24 innings at an average of 50.15 and a strike rate of 144.32 for the Englishman.

Malan is followed by another left-hander in the list for fastest to 1000 runs T20I runs. Czech Republic’s Sabawoon Davizi is second on this list having reached the 1000-run mark in T20Is in 24 matches - the same as Malan.

However, the duration taken in terms of time from Davizi’s debut to 1000 T20I runs is less for the Czech player than it is for Malan. Davizi got to 1000 T20I runs in two years and 279 days, which is significantly lesser than Malan, who took more than three years.

Coming in third on this list is Pakistan superstar Babar Azam, who reach 1000 T20I runs in 26 matches. The right-hand batter took just two years and 58 days to reach 1000 T20I runs after making his debut for Pakistan in the format in September 2016.

Babar got to his first 1000 runs in T20Is at an average of 54.26 and a strike rate of 124.37, smashing eight fifties along the way.

Next on this list is New Zealand Devon Conway, who scored 1000 T20I runs in 26 innings just like Babar. However, Conway stands out as the fastest to this landmark in the top five in terms of duration from his debut having achieved the feat one year and 329 days after his T20I bow.

Making up the top five in this list is none other than India’s Virat Kohli, who reached 1000 T20I runs in 27 innings. Kohli brought up his 1000th T20I run against South Africa in October 2015. Other Indians who feature among this top 10 list include KL Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav.

Fastest to 1000 runs in T20Is

Player Team Match Date Matches Innings
Dawid Malan England March 20, 2021 24 24
Sabawoon Davizi Czech Republic July 24, 2022 24 24
Babar Azam Pakistan November 4, 2018 26 26
Devon Conway New Zealand October 22, 2022 29 26
Virat Kohli India October 2, 2015 29 27
Aaron Finch Australia February 17, 2017 29 29
KL Rahul India December 6, 2019 32 29
Mohammad Rizwan Pakistan July 20, 2021 39 31
Suryakumar Yadav India October 2, 2022 33 31
Kevin Pietersen England August 31, 2011 32 32

Photo Credit: Alamy