The T20I format requires batters to score at a quicker rate compared to ODIs and Tests, where they can take their time to settle in before accelerating.

Ever since Chris Gayle became the first player to hit a T20I ton during the 2007 World Cup, more than 50 odd cricketers have gone on to achieve a similar feat, with some of them managing to breach the three-figure mark at an astonishing pace.

Three players jointly hold the record for the fastest century in T20Is, scored in 35 balls. Rohit Sharma is one of them and consequently holds the record for the fastest century for India in T20Is.

Fastest century for India in T20Is

Player Balls Opponent Venue Year
Rohit Sharma 35 Sri Lanka Indore 2017
Suryakumar Yadav 45 Sri Lanka Rajkot 2023
KL Rahul 46 West Indies Lauderhill 2016
Suryakumar Yadav 48 England Nottingham 2022
Suryakumar Yadav 49 New Zealand Mount Mauganui 2022
KL Rahul 53 England Manchester 2018
Virat Kohli 53 Afghanistan Dubai (DSC) 2022
Shubman Gill 54 New Zealand Ahmedabad 2023
Deepak Hooda 55 Ireland Dublin (Malahide) 2022
Rohit Sharma 56 England Bristol 2018
Rohit Sharma 58 West Indies Lucknow 2018

Rohit Sharma - 35 balls vs Sri Lanka

An exquisite timer of the ball, Rohit Sharma smashed a scintillating 43-ball 118 against Sri Lanka in December 2017, reaching the 100-run mark in just 35 balls 

The Hitman, who also features among the players with the most runs in T20Is, etched his name in the history books by scoring the fastest century for India in T20Is.

The right-handed batter, who has scored the most centuries in T20I cricket, hit 12 fours and 10 sixes on a memorable night as India emerged victorious by 88 runs.

Suryakumar Yadav - 45 balls vs Sri Lanka

Suryakumar Yadav has been a revelation ever since making his international debut against England in March 2021.

Having finished 2022 as the leading run-scorer in T20Is, the swashbuckling batter continued his terrific form with a 45-ball century in the final T20I of the Sri Lanka tour of India 2023, breaking multiple records en route to his 51-ball 112*.

After tons against England (July 2022) and New Zealand (November 2022), the century against Sri Lanka made him the first non-opening batter to score three 100-plus scores in T20Is.

Moreover, all three centuries were scored in under 50 balls with SKY striking at 200-plus.

KL Rahul - 46 balls vs West Indies

One of the only two centuries scored by KL Rahul in the shortest format of the game makes it to the list of fastest centuries for India in T20Is. He touched the 100-run mark in 46 balls against the Windies in August 2016 at Lauderhill, USA.

Chasing a daunting target of 246, India lost the match by just one run.


Photo credit: Alamy