The Indian T20 League has given cricket fans plenty of wonderful memories over the years with batters and bowlers both entertaining spectators with their magnificent performances.

The fast-paced nature of the league and T20 cricket, in general, has made the 20-over format a favourite to watch, especially for youngsters.

While bowlers do get their moments to shine in this format, it is the batters who rule the roast more often than not.

Their hard-hitting and quick runs are what mostly get the fans off their seats. After the birth of this format, quick fifties in the blink of an eye have become increasingly common.

And with the number of top-quality batters from across the globe that feature in the Indian T20 League, it is easy to see why there have been several blitzkrieg fifties scored in this competition.

Plenty of batters have scored quickfire half-centuries, but it is Team Rajasthan batter Yashasvi Jaiswal who holds the record for scoring the fastest 50 in Indian T20 League history against Team Kolkata in 2023.

Here, we take a look at Yashasvi Jaiswal’s knock and check out some of the other quickest fifties in the Indian T20 League.

Fastest 50 in Indian T20 League

Player Opponent Balls Taken  Year
Yashasvi Jaiswal (Rajasthan) Kolkata 13 2023
KL Rahul (Punjab) Delhi 14 2018
Pat Cummins (Kolkata) Mumbai  14 2022
Yusuf Pathan (Kolkata) Hyderabad 15 2014
Sunil Narine (Kolkata) Bangalore 15 2017
Nicholas Pooran (Lucknow) Bangalore 15 2023
Suresh Raina (Chennai) Punjab 16 2014
Ishan Kishan (Mumbai) Hyderabad 16 2021
Chris Gayle (Bangalore) Pune 17 2013
Hardik Pandya (Mumbai) Kolkata 17 2019

Yashasvi Jaiswal vs Team Kolkata, 2023

The 2023 edition of the Indian T20 League was a bit of a coming-of-age season for talented left-hand batter Yashasvi Jaiswal. After scoring his maiden hundred in the league in 2023, Yashasvi Jaiswal continued his rich vein of form by scoring the fastest-ever fifty in the Indian T20 league. Up against Team Kolkata and with a target of 150 to reach, Yashasvi made light work of the target and helped his team win the match in 13.1 overs with nine wickets to spare. He took just 13 balls to reach his fifty, making it the fastest 50 in Indian T20 League, and finished the game with an unbeaten score of 98 from 47 balls. 

KL Rahul vs Team Delhi, 2021

While representing Team Punjab in the 2021 edition of the Indian T20 League, Team Punjab’s KL Rahul scored what was then the quickest fifty in the history of the competition. The stylish right-hand top-order batter opened the innings for Punjab with a bang. Chasing a competitive target of 167, KL Rahul proceeded to take the attack to Delhi right from the outset thanks to his aggressive batting and exquisite strokeplay. He took just 14 balls to reach his half-century and was eventually dismissed for a 16-ball 51, which featured six fours and four sixes. His knock helped Punjab win the game with six wickets and seven balls to spare.

Pat Cummins vs Team Mumbai, 2022

Pat Cummins’ memorable knock against Mumbai in 2022 will live long in the memory of Kolkata fans and spectators who were there at the stadium to watch the carnage unfold. The Australian walked into the crease with Kolkata needing 61 from 41 balls after most of their recognised batters had struggled to make an impact and get going on the surface while chasing 162 to win. Little did everyone know that Cummins would go on to produce one of the most belligerent knocks seen in the competition. After hitting Tymal Mills for a four and six in his first over at the crease, Cummins dished out the same treatment to Jasprit Bumrah in the next over. However, no one had envisioned what followed next as Cummins took Daniel Sams to the cleaners by smashing four sixes and two fours off him in the 16th over to win the match for Kolkata with four overs to spare. Cummins finished on 56* off 15 balls having struck four fours and six sixes during his match-winning knock.

Photo credit: Alamy