India talisman Virat Kohli and Pakistan captain Babar Azam hold the record for the fastest to 3000 runs in T20 internationals.

In March 2021, Virat Kohli became the first cricketer to complete 3,000 runs in T20I cricket. Having made his T20I debut against Zimbabwe at the Harare Sports Club in 2010, Kohli completed 3,000 runs in cricket’s shortest format in just 81 innings. The former India cricket team captain achieved the incredible milestone during the second T20I against England in his 87th T20 international match at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. 

Batting at his usual number three position, Kohli smashed an unbeaten 73 off 49 balls to guide India to a seven-wicket win while chasing England’s 164/6. Courtesy Kohli’s match-winning knock, India levelled the five-match series 1-1. The hosts later went on to clinch the T20I series 3-2.

Meanwhile, Pakistan’s star batter Babar Azam equalled Virat Kohli’s incredible record for the fastest to 3000 runs in T20 internationals during the sixth T20I against England in Lahore on September 30, 2022. Babar Azam also took 81 innings to complete the feat.

Interestingly, Babar Azam reached the milestone in a span of six years and 23 days since making his T20I debut against England at the Old Trafford in 2016.

Playing his 86th T20 international, the right-handed batter scored a 59-ball 87 not out while opening the innings against England at the Gaddafi Stadium.

Babar Azam’s scintillating innings powered Pakistan to 169/6 in their 20 overs. However, England rode on wicket-keeper batter Phil Salt’s 88-run knock off 41 balls to chase down the total in just 14.3 overs and levelled the seven-match T20I series 3-3.

New Zealand’s opening batter Martin Guptill is third on the fastest to 3000 runs in T20 internationals list. The swashbuckling batter took 101 innings to reach 3,000 runs in T20I cricket. Guptill achieved the milestone during his 105th T20 international while playing against Scotland at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium in November 2021.

India’s Rohit Sharma and Paul Sterling of Ireland are the two other cricketers who have completed 3,000 T20I runs so far. 

While India captain Rohit Sharma took 108 innings to reach the landmark, Ireland’s opening batter Paul Sterling achieved the milestone in 113 innings.

Fastest to 3000 runs in T20Is

Player Matches Innings Against Venue Match Date
Virat Kohli (IND) 87 81 England Ahmedabad 14 March 2021
Babar Azam (PAK) 86 81 England Lahore 30 September 2022
Martin Guptill (NZ) 105 101 Scotland Dubai 3 November 2021
Rohit Sharma (IND) 116 108 Namibia Dubai 8 November 2021
Paul Stirling (IRE) 114 113 Afghanistan Belfast 17 August 2022

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: Aamir QURESHI / AFP