Wicketkeeper-batsman Shreevats Goswami was the first player to win the Indian T20 League Emerging Player of the Year honour. He won the award while representing Team Bangalore in the 2008 edition.

Goswami won the award after scoring 82 runs (including a half-century) followed by four dismissals (two caught, two stumpings) in four matches. He featured for Bangalore in the first three seasons of the Indian T20 League before going on to represent Kolkata, Rajasthan and Hyderabad in the competition.

Rohit Sharma is second on the list of Indian T20 League Emerging Player of the Year awardees. The current Mumbai skipper was given the honour for his pivotal performances in Team Deccan’s charge to win the 2009 edition. Rohit hit 362 runs in 16 matches and grabbed 11 wickets. This was his best return as a part-time bowler.

The likes of Saurabh Tiwary (2010), Iqbal Abdulla (2011) and Mandeep Singh (2012) went on to win the honour in the next three editions.

Bangladesh’s Mustafizur Rahman is the only overseas player to win the Indian T20 League Emerging Player of the Year award. The pacer claimed the honour for his haul of 17 wickets in 16 matches in his debut campaign in 2016. Rahman’s exploits proved handy as his Hyderabad team would go on to win the league title.

Ruturaj Gaikwad, who won the Orange Cap last season, also returned home as the Indian T20 League Emerging Player of the Year. 

The 25-year-old slammed 635 runs at an average of 45.35 in the 2021 edition, with a century and four fifties to his name. He hit a 27-ball 32 in the 2021 final against Kolkata and capped off a fine season with a winners medal.

Indian T20 League Emerging Player of the Year: Complete list

Player Edition
Shreevats Goswami 2008
Rohit Sharma 2009
Saurabh Tiwary 2010
Iqbal Abdulla 2011
Mandeep Singh 2012
Sanju Samson 2013
Axar Patel 2014
Shreyas Iyer 2015
Mustafizur Rahman 2016
Basil Thampi 2017
Rishabh Pant 2018
Shubman Gill 2019
Devdutt Padikkal 2020
Ruturaj Gaikwad 2021

Author: William Paul

Featured photo: AFP / ISHARA S. KODIKARA