The Caribbean Premier League (CPL) T20 cricket tournament was first held in 2013.

Jamaica Tallawahs won the inaugural CPL season, beating Guyana Amazon Warriors, a team that reached the CPL final five times till date but has never won the trophy.

Trinbago Knight Riders lead the Caribbean Premier League winners list with three titles (2017, 2018 and 2020). Unofficially, it can also be labelled as four trophies considering the Knight Riders won the 2015 edition while operating as Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel.

Let's have a look at all the CPL champions since 2013.

Caribbean Premier League 2013: Jamaica Tallawahs

Jamaica Tallawahs, who finished second in the league stage, were completely dominant in the CPL final against table-toppers Guyana Amazon Warriors. The Ramnaresh Sarwan-led Warriors scored 128/5 after being put to bat first.

In reply, the Tallawahs chased down the target in 17.3 overs as skipper Chris Gayle remained unbeaten with 47 runs off 48 balls.

Caribbean Premier League 2014: Barbados Tridents

For the second season on the bounce, Guyana Amazon Warriors fell short of a CPL trophy as they went down to Barbados Tridents by eight wickets in the 2014 final.

The Tridents put up a first innings score of 152/6, with Dwayne Smith (59) and 

Shoaib Malik (55 not out) slamming match-winning half-centuries.

In reply, Guyana Amazon Warriors were bundled out for 107/4 while chasing a revised target of 116 in 15.5 overs.

Caribbean Premier League 2015: Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel

Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel secured their first and only Caribbean Premier League title with a 20-run victory over defending champions Barbados Tridents in the 2015 CPL final.

Batting first, Red Steel put up 178/5 on the scoreboard thanks to half-centuries from Cameron Delport (50) and Kamran Akmal (60).

The Tridents could manage just 158/4 in 20 overs, as Trinidad’s Sulieman Benn bowled the best spell of the fixture (2/24).

Caribbean Premier League 2016: Jamaica Tallawahs

Jamaica Tallawahs and Guyana Amazon Warriors went head-to-head in the 2016 Caribbean Premier League final, in what was a repeat of the summit clash from the inaugural season.

The 2016 CPL final is the lowest scoring affair in the competition’s history, as Tallawahs chased down the target of 94 set by the Warriors in 12.5 overs.

Guyana Amazon Warriors, batting first, were bowled out for 93 with Imad Wasim (3/21) emerging as the wrecker-in-chief.

Like in 2013, Chris Gayle led from the front to steer his Jamaica Tallawahs side to victory, scoring a 27-ball 54.

Caribbean Premier League 2017: Trinbago Knight Riders

Trinbago Knight Riders claimed the first of their three titles in 2017, outclassing St Kitts and Nevis Patriots by three wickets.

The Patriots were put to bat first and they went on to post 135/6 in 20 overs. In response, Trinbago held their nerves to score 136/7 in 19 overs.

The Knight Riders were reduced to 12/2 in 1.4 overs, but the efforts of Colin Munro (29), Denesh Ramdin (26) and Kevon Cooper (29) propelled the team to their maiden piece of silverware in the tournament.

Caribbean Premier League 2018: Trinbago Knight Riders

Trinbago Knight Riders became the first team to defend their CPL title, with a convincing eight-wicket win over Guyana Amazon Warriors in the 2018 finale.

The Warriors, who batted first, scored 147/9 in 20 overs. Khary Pierre was the most effective bowler as he scalped three wickets for 29 runs.

When they came out to bat, Trinbago Knight Riders rode on Colin Munro’s unbeaten 68 off 39 balls to hit 150/2 in 17.3 overs.

Munro finished as the leading run-getter in the 2018 edition, with 567 runs in 13 innings.

Caribbean Premier League 2019: Barbados Tridents

After a last-place finish in the 2018 season, Barbados Tridents returned as a CPL finalist in the 2019 edition against a familiar opponent in Guyana Amazon Warriors.

Jonathan Carter’s unbeaten 50 off 27 balls at number seven set the tone for the Tridents to plot an eventual match-winning score of 171/6 in their allotted 20 overs.

Guyana Amazon Warriors, in return, were restricted to 144/9 in 20 overs as Barbados’ Raymon Reifer grabbed an impressive four-wicket haul (4/24). The victory marked Barbados Trident’s second title and first since 2014.

Caribbean Premier League 2020: Trinbago Knight Riders

Trinbago Knight Riders clinched their third CPL title with an eight-wicket victory over St Lucia Zouks in the 2020 CPL final.

The Zouks were initially bundled out for 154 in 19.1 overs, with Trinbago skipper Kieron Pollard picking up four wickets for 30 runs.

The Trinbago Knight Riders rallied to 157/2 in 18.1 overs as the 2020 edition’s top-run getter Lendl Simmons played a match-winning knock of 84 runs from 49 balls. Simmons was supported by Darren Bravo (58 in 47 balls) as his team became the most successful team in CPL history.

Caribbean Premier League 2021: St Kitts and Nevis Patriots

The latest Caribbean Premier League edition saw hosts St Kitts and Nevis Patriots win their maiden CPL title.

Put to field first, the Patriots rode on two-wicket hauls from Fawad Ahmed (2/32) and Naseem Shah (2/26) to contain St Lucia Kings to 159/7 in 20 overs.

Dominic Drakes (48 not out) and Joshua Da Silva (37) championed the chase for SKNP as they hit 160/7 to win the title.  

Caribbean Premier League 2022: Jamaica Tallawahs

Jamaica Tallawahs clinched their third CPL title as they defeated Barbados Royals by eight wickets in the 2022 final at the Providence Stadium in Georgetown, Guyana. Chasing a target of 162, the Tallawahs rode on opener Brandon King's 83 off 50 balls and Sharmarh Brooks' 33-ball 47 to chase down the total in just 16.1 overs and secure a dominating victory in the summit clash.

Earlier, Tallawahs bowlers Fabien Allen and Nicholson Gordon picked three wickets each to restrict Barbados Royals to 161/7 in their 20 overs. Azam Khan was the highest scorer for the Royals as he scored 51 off 40 balls.

Caribbean Premier League (CPL) winners list





Jamaica Tallawahs

Guyana Amazon Warriors


Barbados Tridents

Guyana Amazon Warriors


Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel

Barbados Tridents


Jamaica Tallawahs

Guyana Amazon Warriors


Trinbago Knight Riders

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots


Trinbago Knight Riders

Guyana Amazon Warriors


Barbados Tridents

Guyana Amazon Warriors


Trinbago Knight Riders

St Lucia Zouks


St Kitts and Nevis Patriots

St Lucia Kings


Jamaica Tallawahs

Barbados Royals

Author: William Paul

Featured photo: Twitter / CPL T20