The Mumbai cricket team is the new owner of the record for biggest win in First Class cricket by runs, after they beat Uttarakhand by 725 runs in the quarter-finals of 2021-22 Ranji Trophy.

Electing to bat first, Mumbai - record winners of the Ranji Trophy - posted a first innings score of 647/8d. Suved Parkar (252 runs) and Sarfaraz Khan (153 runs) were the top run-getters and found support in Armaan Jaffer (60) and Shams Mulani (59).

A five-wicket haul from Mulani helped Mumbai to restrict Uttarakhand to 114 all out in 41.1 overs. With this, Prithvi Shaw and Co. maintained a 533-run lead.

In the second innings, Yashasvi Jaiswal’s 103 and half-centuries from Shaw (72) and Aditya Tare (57) helped Mumbai score 261/3d and set a target of 795 for Jay Bista’s Uttarakhand.

Three wickets each for Dhawal Kulkarni (3/11), Shams Mulani (3/15) and Tanush Kotian (3/13) inspired Mumbai to bowl out Uttarakhand for a mere 69 runs and register the biggest win in First Class cricket by runs.

Mumbai’s historic result broke the previous record that was set by New South Wales in 1930.

In the Sheffield Shield match, the NSW team - led by Alan Kippax - opted to bat first upon winning the toss against Queensland. With a first innings lead of eight runs, New South Wales rode on Don Bradman’s unbeaten 452 off 465 balls to notch a total of 761/8 in 117.1 overs and hand the visitors a target of 770 runs.

Eventually, Queensland were dismissed for 84 in 30.5 overs and succumbed to a then-world record defeat of 685 runs.

The third team with the biggest win in First Class cricket by runs is England. The Percy Chapman-led team beat hosts Australia by 675 runs to take a 1-0 lead in the 1928/29 Australia vs England Test series.

The introduction of Patsy Hendren (169) inspired England to post a first-innings total of 521. Harold Larwood’s impressive spell of six wickets for 32 runs saw Australia bowled out for 122 and stare at a deficit of 399 runs.

In the second innings, half-centuries from Phil Mead (73) and Douglas Jardine (65) propelled England to give Australia a target of 742 runs to chase. The match ended in England’s favour.

New South Wales’ 1930 record for biggest win in First Class cricket by runs was an improvement of their previous best in 1921.

The fixture - New South Wales vs South Australia - took place in the 1920/21 Sheffield Shield season. Big knocks from Warren Bardsley (235), Johnny Taylor (180) and Charles Kelleway (103 not out) saw NSW hit 770 after they scored 304 runs in the first innings.

South Australia could only manage scores of 265 and 171 as New South Wales registered a 638-run win.

Muslim Commercial Bank complete the top five list for biggest win in First Class cricket by runs. Playing in Pakistan, Ijaz Faqih’s men registered a 609-run win over Water and Power Development Authority in the 1977/78 BCCP Patron’s Trophy.

Biggest win in First Class cricket by runs

Winning Team Opponent Margin of victory Competition Year




Ranji Trophy


New South Wales



Sheffield Shield







New South Wales

South Australia


Sheffield Shield


Muslim Commercial Bank

Water and Power Development Authority


BCCP Patron’s Trophy


Author: William Paul

Featured photo: Twitter / BCCI Domestic