The Belfast Cricket Stadium is situated in the grounds of the Stormont Estate in Northern Ireland.

Also known as the Civil Service Cricket Club, this international and first-class cricket ground was established in 1949.

With a seating capacity of 6,000, the Belfast Cricket Stadium is one of the four One-Day International (ODI) cricket grounds in Ireland. Apart from Belfast, Cricket Ireland hosts ODI matches at Bready in Magheramason and Clontarf and Malahide in Dublin.

The Civil Service Cricket Club staged its first international match, an ODI, between neighbours Ireland and England on June 13, 2006.

The inaugural T20I match at Belfast Cricket Stadium was played between Kenya and the Netherlands in 2008.

Since then, the venue has hosted 24 T20Is and 43 ODIs so far.

The Civil Service Cricket Club in Belfast has also hosted ICC World T20 Qualifier tournament matches in 2008 and 2015.

Let’s look at the T20I records at the Belfast Cricket Stadium.

Belfast Cricket Stadium T20I records

Highest team total: The Bangladesh cricket team posted 190/5 against Ireland, which is the highest T20I total at Civil Service Cricket Club in Belfast in 2012. Put into bat, Bangladesh rode on Shakib Al Hasan’s 57 off 33 balls and Ziaur Rahman’s unbeaten 17-ball 40 to post 190/5 in their allotted 20 overs. In reply, Ireland could only manage 119/8 in their 20 overs as Bangladesh secured a 71-run victory in the first T20I of the series.

Lowest team total: The Bermuda cricket team holds the unwanted record of registering the lowest team total at this venue in the T20I format. During a rain-curtailed ICC World T20 Qualifier encounter in 2008, Bermuda were restricted to 41/8 in their reply to Ireland’s 43/7 in a nine-overs-a-side game. Ireland won the match by four runs courtesy D/L method.

In a completed encounter, Nepal own the embarrassing record for the lowest T20I team total at Civil Service Cricket Club. Nepal were bundled out for 53 by Ireland during an ICC World T20 Qualifier clash in 2015. In response, Ireland chased down the total in eight overs with eight wickets in hand.

Highest individual score: New Zealand cricketer Dane Cleaver has registered the highest individual score at this venue in 2022. The Kiwi wicket-keeper batter smashed an unbeaten 78 runs off balls to power his side to 179/4 in their 20 overs. Defending 180, New Zealand bowled out Ireland for 91 to claim an 88-run win.

Best bowling figures: Bangladesh spinner Elias Sunny recorded the best bowling figures at the Belfast Cricket Stadium in the T20I format. The left-arm spinner picked five wickets for just 13 runs in his quota of four overs against Ireland in 2012. Elias Sunny’s career-best T20 figures helped Bangladesh register a 71-run victory.

Most runs: Ireland cricketer Paul Sterling has scored the most runs at the Civil Service Cricket Club in Belfast. The swashbuckling opening batter has amassed 219 runs in 11 innings at an average of 19.90 and a strike rate of 114.65. Former Ireland captain William Porterfield is second on the list with 154 runs in nine matches.

Most wickets: Ireland’s Kevin O’Brien has claimed the most wickets at this venue. The Dublin-born all-rounder has scalped 11 wickets in seven innings at an impressive economy of 4.96. Ireland left-arm pacer Josh Little is second on the list with 10 wickets from just five matches.

Highest partnership: South Africa captain Temba Bavuma and Reeza Hendricks own the record for the highest partnership at the Civil Service Cricket Club in T20I cricket. The Proteas duo forged a 127-run stand for the opening wicket to help South Africa post 189/2 in their 20 overs. While Bavuma scored 72 runs off 51 balls and Hendricks hammered a 48-ball 69. In reply, Ireland were restricted to 140/9 in their 20 overs as the visitors won the match by 49 runs.

Play fantasy cricket with SportsAdda. Create your team, track your progress and win prizes. Start here.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates from the world of sports!

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: Cricket Ireland