The BCCI presidents list features several influential politicians, businessmen and former Indian cricket team players.

Since the formation of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 1928, the BCCI president is considered to be one of the most influential posts in the country, considering the popularity and financial power of the governing body for cricket in India.

Even though the BCCI president post is an honorary one, several politicians, royalty, businessmen and cricketers have been appointed to occupy the prestigious post over the years.

How is the BCCI president elected?

The BCCI president is elected at the governing body’s annual general meeting, with each of the 30 affiliates of the BCCI getting an opportunity to exercise their vote.

Additionally, the outgoing BCCI president exercises his vote as the chairman of the meeting. Usually, the BCCI president has a tenure of three years and is rotated zone-wise across India. The BCCI president is reportedly paid a salary of INR five crores annually. 

Who is the current BCCI president?

The 1983 World Cup-winning cricketer Roger Binny is the current BCCI president since taking over the job in October 2022. Roger Binny suceeded Sourav Ganguly for the top post at the BCCI’s annual general meeting, which was held in Mumbai on October 18, 2022.

Who was the first BCCI president?

Raymond Eustace Grant Govan was the first BCCI president, elected in 1928. He held the position till 1933. Govan was the managing director of the Govan Bros. Ltd, a leading business house at that time.

Interestingly, Jagmohan Dalmiya held the post of BCCI president thrice. The former Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) president was elected BCCI prez from 2001-2004 and was made interim president in 2013 before being re-elected in 2015. Unfortunately, he passed away while in office in 2015.

Narayanaswami Srinivasan and Shashank Manohar have been handed the BCCI president post twice previously.

BCCI Presidents list

Name Took Office Left Office
Raymond Eustace Grant Govan 1928 1933
Sikandar Hayat Khan 1933 1935
Hamidullah Khan 1935 1937
Digvijaysinhji Ranjitsinhji Jadeja 1937 1938
Paramasiva Subbarayan 1938 1946
Anthony de Mello 1946 1951
J. C. Mukherji 1951 1954
Maharajkumar of Vizianagram 1954 1956
Surjit Singh Majithia 1956 1958
R. K. Patel 1958 1960
Muthiah Annamalai Chidambaram 1960 1963
Fatehsinghrao Prataprao Gaekwad II 1963 1966
Z. R. Irani 1966 1969
A. N. Ghose 1969 1972
P. M. Rungta 1972 1975
Ramprakash Mehra 1975 1977
Mangalam Chinnaswamy 1977 1980
Sheshrao Krishnarao Wankhede 1980 1982
Narendra Kumar Prasadrao Salve 1982 1985
Srinivasan Sriraman 1985 1988
B. N. Dutt 1988 1990
Madhavrao Scindia 1990 1993
Inderjit Singh Bindra 1993 1996
Raj Singh Dungarpur 1996 1999
Annamalai Chidambaram Muthiah 1999 2001
Jagmohan Dalmiya 2001 2004
Ranbir Singh Mahendra 2004 2005
Sharad Pawar 2005 2008
Shashank Manohar 2008 2011
Narayanaswami Srinivasan 2011 2013
Jagmohan Dalmiya 2013 2013
Narayanaswami Srinivasan 2014 2014
Shivlal Yadav 2015 2015
Shashank Manohar 2015 2015
Anurag Thakur 2016 2017
C. K. Khanaa 2017 2019
Sourav Ganguly 2019 2022
Roger Binny 2022 Incumbent


Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: Indranil MUKHERJEE / AFP