The Assam Cricket Association Stadium, also known as Barsapara Cricket Stadium, is situated in the city of Guwahati. With a capacity of 45,000, it is deemed the largest sports stadium in the Northeast.

In 2010, the Assam Cricket Association changed the stadium’s name to Dr. Bhupen Hazarika Cricket Stadium, who was a renowned filmmaker and playback singer hailing from the state of Assam. 

The Barsapara Cricket Stadium is relatively new as compared to other stadiums in India that have been given international status. In November 2012, It hosted its first-ever domestic match of the East Zone Senior Women's Interstate One-day Championship match between home team Assam and Odisha.

In October 2017, the second T20I of the Australia Tour of India became the first international match to be played at the Barsapara Stadium. The Aussies won the clash by eight wickets. 

A year later, in October 2018, the stadium hosted its first ODI match between hosts India and West Indies. The Men in Blue emerged victorious by eight wickets.

Let’s have a look at the T20I records and stats at Barsapara Stadium, Guwahati.

Barsapara Stadium T20I records and stats

Highest total: Team India's 237/3 during the second T20I of the South Africa Tour of India, 2022, is the highest total recorded at this stadium. KL Rahul's 57 off 28 and Suryakumar Yadav's 61 off 22 guided the hosts to a humongous total before surviving a Proteas fightback, winning the match by 16 runs in the process. With the victory, Team India created history by winning their first ever bilateral T20I series against South Africa at home.

Lowest total: Team India's 118 against Australia in the second T20I of the Aussies' tour of India in 2017, is the lowest total recorded at the venue. None of the Indian batters could get going against a potent Australian bowling line-up, ending the first innings with a mere 118 all out. The visitors sailed to an eight-wicket win with Moises Henriques and Travis Head scoring 62 not out and an unbeaten 48 respectively.

Most runs: South Africa's David Miller has scored the most runs in T20Is at this venue. The hard-hitting left-hander accumulated 106 runs at an impressive strike rate of 225.53. He's the only centurion at this venue in T20 internationals.

Most wickets: Australia's Jason Behrendorff has taken more T20I wickets than any other player at this venue. He bagged four wickets in Assam at an average of 5.25 and an economy of 5.25 in his only match at the stadium.

Highest Individual score: South Africa’s David Miller holds the record for highest individual runs scored at the Barsapara Stadium. Chasing a daunting 238 in the second T20I of the South Africa Tour of India, 2022, Miller's terrific knock of 106* off 47 balls went in vain as the Men in Blue emerged victorious in the end.

Best bowling figures: Australia’s Jason Behrendorff rattled the Indian batters with his 4/21 in the second T20I of the Australia Tour of India in 2017, which is the best bowling figure at the Barsapara Stadium. Team India was bundled out for 118 courtesy of the breathtaking spell by Behrendorff before the Australian team breached the target easily in 15.3 overs.

Highest partnership: South Africa duo Quinton de Kock and David Miller stitched together an unbeaten 174-run stand for the fourth wicket in the second T20I of the South Africa Tour of India, 2022. Chasing a massive target of 238, the Proteas suffered early setbacks when both the main batters, Temba Bavuma and Rilee Rossouw, were dismissed for a duck each. The onus was on de Kock and Miller to steady the ship and they did so in a convincing fashion. However, they fell 16 runs short of the target in what could have been a famous victory for them.

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: Dibyangshu SARKAR / AFP