The Barsapara Cricket Stadium, also known as the ACA Stadium, is located in Guwahati, Assam.

Established in 2012, the Barsapara Cricket Stadium is India’s 49th international stadium and has a capacity of 50,000, making it the largest sports stadium in northeast India.

A state-of-the-art cricket stadium, it hosts domestic matches for the Assam Cricket Association and international matches for India.

The first international match hosted in this stadium took place in 2017 when India squared off against Australia in a T20I. The stadium has hosted three T20Is and two ODIs, the first of which took place in 2018.

With that in mind, here we take a closer look at all the T20 records at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium.

Barsapara Cricket Stadium T20 records

Most runs

Indian batter Ajinkya Rahane has scored more runs than any other player at this stadium. While representing Mumbai, he has amassed 163 runs at an average of 54.33 and a strike rate of 141.73.

Most wickets

As many as three bowlers have taken seven T20 scalps at this venue, which is the most by any bowler. Although Krishnappa Gowtham and Mohit Avasthi have also taken seven T20 scalps each at this venue, Chhattisgarh bowler Shubham Agrawal’s seven wickets at an average of 6.71 and an economy of 6.00 puts him on top of the pile.  

Highest individual score

The highest individual score in T20s at this venue came in October 2022 during an international match between India and South Africa as an unbeaten knock of 106 by David Miller went in vain as the Proteas fell 16 runs short of India’s huge total. 

In domestic matches, Karnataka’s Manish Pandey’s 84 against Mumbai in the 2021 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is the highest individual score by a batter. Karnataka went on to win the game by nine runs. 

Best bowling figures

While playing in a Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy match in 2021, Chhattisgarh’s Shubham Agrawal picked up 5/13 after his team had posted 176/3 on the scoreboard. Agarwal’s spell of 5/13, which is the best bowling figures on this ground, ensuring the opposition Services fell short by 35 runs.

Highest team total

In the same abovementioned T20 game where David Miller made an unbeaten 106 for South Africa, India had earlier posted 237/3 on the scoreboard in the first innings. The Men in Blue’s match-winning total against the Proteas in October 2022 is the highest team total at this venue.

On the domestic circuit, Mumbai registered the highest team total as far as T20s go. During a 2021 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy match between Mumbai and Baroda, the former posted 193/2 on the scoreboard en route to a convincing 82-run win. 

Lowest team total

The lowest team total at this stadium was registered by Services when they squared off in a 2021 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy match against Bengal. Services managed just 90/8 in the first innings - which is the lowest total at this ground - and they went on to lose the game by nine wickets.

Highest partnership

The highest partnership at this stadium was recorded in the same aforementioned game where David Miller registered the highest T20 score on this ground. While chasing 238 against India in a T20I, South Africa duo David Miller and Quinton de Kock stitched together an unbeaten 174-run stand in what was eventually a losing effort for the Proteas.

Meanwhile, Mumbai duo Ajinkya Rahane and Prithvi Shaw put on a 151-run opening stand against Baroda in the 2021 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. They helped Mumbai post 193/2 and earn an 82-run win while recording the highest partnership on this ground in domestic T20s.


Photo credits: Alamy