Established in 1958, the Barabati Stadium is a multi-purpose stadium located in Cuttack, Odisha.

Operated by the Odisha Cricket Association, the Cuttack stadium is used for cricket, football, hockey and also for live concerts.

It is one of the oldest cricket grounds in India, having hosted several touring teams including the MCC, the West Indies and Australian cricket teams before it staged its first international match in the 1980s.

The venue hosted its first international match between India and England in the ODI format in January 1982. Since then, it has staged 19 ODIs, two Tests and as many T20I international matches.

The Barabati Stadium has also hosted seven Indian T20 League matches and fixtures of the now-defunct Odisha Premier League. It was also one of the grounds which hosted the 2013 Women's Cricket World Cup.

The 48,000-seat stadium also has an indoor cricket hall named after India cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar.

T20I cricket will return to the Barabati Stadium after four years as the Indian cricket team will host South Africa on June 12. The last time India played a T20I match in Cuttack, the hosts thrashed Sri Lanka by 93 runs.

However, India had suffered a six-wicket loss against South Africa in their first T20I match at Barabati Stadium in 2015.

Ahead of the T20I between India and South Africa, let’s have a look at the T20 records at the Barabati Stadium in Cuttack.

Barabati Stadium T20I Records

Highest total: India posted the highest team total against Sri Lanka at Barabati Stadium in Cuttack in 2017. Put into bat, the hosts rode on KL Rahul’s 48-ball 61 and MS Dhoni’s unbeaten 38 off 22 balls to register 180/3 in their allotted 20 overs. In reply, Sri Lanka were bundled out for 87 as India secured a massive 93-run victory.

Lowest total: Sri Lanka holds the unwanted record of recording the lowest team total at Barabati Stadium. Chasing a competitive total of 180, the visitors were bowled out for 87. Leg spinner Yuzvendra Chahal was the wrecker-in-chief for India as he picked up four wickets for 23 runs in his quota of four overs. India all-rounder Hardik Pandya also bagged three wickets in the match.

Highest individual score: India opening batter KL Rahul has registered the highest individual T20I score against Sri Lanka at the venue in 2017. The right-handed batter smashed 61 off just 48 balls to help India post 180/3 in their allotted 20 overs. Rahul’s impressive knock was laced with seven fours and one six.

Best bowling figures: India spinner Yuzvendra Chahal has the best bowling figures at Barabati Stadium in the shortest format. The leg spinner claimed four wickets for just 23 runs against Sri Lanka in a T20 match in 2017. 

Most runs: KL Rahul has also scored the most runs at this venue in T20I format. The swashbuckling right-handed batter has accumulated 61 runs at a strike rate of 127.08. Former India captain MS Dhoni is second in the list with 44 runs.

Most wickets: Yuzvendra Chahal has picked the most wickets at Barabati Stadium in T20I format. The leg-spinner has picked four wickets at this venue at an impressive economy of 5.75.

Highest partnership: India middle-order batters MS Dhoni and Manish Pandey have the highest partnership at this venue in the shortest format. The duo recorded an unbeaten 68-run partnership for the fourth wicket against Sri Lanka in 2017.

Barabati Stadium T20 Records

Highest total: The Bengal cricket team has scored the highest team total against Arunachal Pradesh at Barabati Stadium in T20 cricket. During a Syed Mushtaq Ali group match in 2019, Bengal rode on opener Wriddhiman Saha’s 129 off 62 balls and Vivek Singh’s 18-ball 49 to post 234/6 in their allotted 20 overs. In response, Arunachal Pradesh could only manage 127/4 in their 20 overs as Bengal secured a 107-run victory.

Lowest total: The Mizoram cricket team posted the lowest T20 total against Bengal at this venue in the shortest format. Chasing a massive target of 222, Mizoram were skittled out for 62. Leg-spinner Prayas Barman was the standout bowler for Bengal as he picked three wickets for just 14 runs in his three overs.

Highest individual score: Bengal wicket-keeper batter Wriddhiman Saha holds the record for the highest individual score at Barabati Stadium in T20 cricket. Saha smashed 62-ball 129 against Arunachal Pradesh in a Syed Mushtaq Ali group match in 2019. Saha’s scintillating innings included 16 fours and four maximums.

Best bowling figures: Karnataka leg-spinner Shreyas Gopal has the best bowling figures against Arunachal Pradesh at this venue in domestic T20 cricket. Gopal claimed five wickets for just 11 runs in his 3.4 overs to help Karnataka secure a 146-run win in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy in 2019.

Most runs: Bengal’s Wriddhiman Saha has accumulated the most runs at Barabati Stadium in T20 cricket. The swashbuckling right-handed batter has amassed 319 runs in the shortest format, including his highest score of 129 against Arunachal Pradesh.

Most wickets: Former Bengal pacer Ashok Dinda has picked the most wickets at Barabati Stadium in domestic T20 cricket. Dinda bagged 12 wickets at this venue - the most by any bowler at this venue in the shortest format.

Highest partnership: Now defunct Deccan franchise batters Cameron White and Kumar Sangakkara recorded the highest partnership at Barabati Stadium in T20 cricket. Playing against the Pune franchise in the Indian T20 League in 2012, White and Sangakkara forged a 157-run partnership for the third wicket. Deccan won the match by 13 runs.

Play fantasy cricket with SportsAdda. Create your team, track your progress and win prizes. Start here.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates from the world of sports!

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites

Featured photo: Dibyangshu SARKAR / AFP