The Australian cricket team won the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021 with an emphatic eight-wicket win over New Zealand in the final showdown on Sunday.

Australia and New Zealand have played a total of 15 T20Is between them and the Aussies have dominated the head-to-head record with tens wins till date. New Zealand, on the other hand, have won five matches.

The cricket rivalry between Australia and New Zealand dates back to 1878 but it wasn’t until 2005 that the two teams locked horns in their first-ever Twenty20 international match. On February 17, 2005, Australia visited Eden Park in Auckland to play a one-off T20I and despite a rather slow start to their innings, the Aussies went on to score 214/5 in 20 overs.

Captain Ricky Ponting scored an unbeaten 98 off 55 deliveries and was supported by Andrew Symonds’ 13-ball 32. Michael Hussey played a 31-run cameo off 15 balls as Australia finished on a high. New Zealand, meanwhile, suffered a middle-order collapse and were bowled out for 170 as Michael Kasprowicz finished with four wickets.

Australia vs New Zealand head-to-head in T20Is

Australia Metric New Zealand
15 Matches 15
10 Won 5
5 Lost 10
66.66 % Win % 33.33 %

Australia’s domination over New Zealand in T20 cricket continued till their tour in 2009-10. Until then, the Aussies had won all of their four T20Is, however, that changed when New Zealand managed to beat their rivals in a one-over eliminator in the second match of the series.

The match saw both teams finishing with 214 runs and the game was eventually decided through a Super Over. Tim Southee was entrusted with the bowl and the pacer conceded just six runs in his over, with David Warner playing two dot balls. New Zealand reached the target in three balls thanks to Shaun Tait’s two wides.

Meanwhile, there has only been a solitary meeting between the two sides in the T20 World Cup. This came in the 2016 edition when both teams were drawn in Group 2. New Zealand scored 142/8 in 20 overs and managed to restrict Australia to 134/9 courtesy Mitchell McClenaghan’s 3/17. Since then, Australia have won two consecutive T20I series against New Zealand, including the Trans-Tasman Trophy in 2017-18.

Australia vs New Zealand T20I stats and records

Highest team total: On February 16, 2018, Australia successfully chased down a target of 244 runs within 18.5 overs. The final ball of the innings saw Aaron Finch hitting Colin de Grandhomme for a six which took Australia’s total to 245/5.

Lowest team total: On March 5, 2021, New Zealand were bowled out for just 106 runs while chasing a target of 157. It is the lowest team total between the two sides.

Highest individual score: During the second T20I in February 2010, Brendon McCullum hit a 56-ball 116 in what was New Zealand’s first-ever win over Australia in T20I. This is the highest individual score in an Australia vs New Zealand T20I game.

Best bowling figure: The third T20I during Australia’s tour of New Zealand in March 2021 saw Ashton Agar finishing with a figure of 6/30. It is the best bowling figure in an Australia vs New Zealand T20I match.

Most runs in Australia vs New Zealand T20Is: New Zealand opener Martin Guptill is the highest run-scorer in Australia vs New Zealand T20Is. The 35-year-old has scored 435 runs in 12 matches at an average of 36.25. This includes one century and two half-centuries.

Most wickets in Australia vs New Zealand T20Is: Spinner Ish Sodhi has picked 16 wickets in Australia vs New Zealand T20Is and this makes the Kiwi the highest wicket-taker in the contest.

Featured photo: AFP / Sajjad Hussain