One of the most experienced spinners in the country, Amit Mishra made his debut for India back in 2003 against South Africa. The leg-spinner rose to prominence in the inaugural edition of the Indian T20 League following his hat-trick against Hyderabad at the Arun Jaitley Stadium.

He ended that spell with figures of 5/17 which is his best bowling performance in T20 cricket to date.

Indian T20 League career

Second on the list of leading wicket-takers in the Indian T20 League, the 38-year-old has 166 wickets in 154 matches, only four behind Sri Lankan pace sensation Lasith Malinga. Mishra is also the only player in the history of the Indian T20 League to have claimed three hat-tricks. 

Plying his trade for Delhi in the first three seasons of the Indian T20 League, Amit Mishra had a fruitful start, picking up 42 wickets in 31 matches at an economy of 6.91. He later featured for the Hyderabad franchise and took his second and third hat-trick in 2011 and 2013 respectively. Between 2011 to 2014, the leg-spinner notched 60 wickets across 55 games.

However, despite establishing himself as one of India’s top spin bowlers in the league, the Purple Cap for the player with the highest wickets in a single edition of the Indian T20 League has always eluded him.

That said, Amit Mishra has troubled the best batsmen in the world with his guile and tenacity to perform even on docile surfaces. 

Batsmen dismissed most number of times by Amit Mishra in T20 cricket 

Amit Mishra has got Rohit Sharma out a record eight times in T20 cricket with seven of those dismissals coming in the Indian T20 League.

Here are the other batsmen dismissed the most number of times by Amit Mishra in T20 cricket. 



Number of Dismissals


Rohit Sharma



Shane Watson



Mandeep Singh



Glenn Maxwell



Ravindra Jadeja



Robin Uthappa



Suresh Raina


Featured photo: Sajjad Hussain / AFP