This Ad is not available for you.

TRAU FC vs Churchill Brothers: Who will be crowned I-League 2021 champions? - watch live

TRAU FC (Tiddim Road Athletic Union FC) will take on Churchill Brothers in their most important I-League 2021 fixture on Sunday at the Kishore Bharati Krirangan in Santoshpur. 

A win for TRAU could see the Manipur club lift their maiden I-League title. Gokulam Kerala FC and Mohammedan Sporting have an outside chance.

After an underwhelming performance in the regular I-League season, where TRAU FC could just manage to get the last playoff spot by garnering 16 points from 10 matches, the Red Pythons have shifted gear to become tournament favourites.

Surprisingly, Churchill Brothers, who were the I-League leaders in the regular season, have struggled for form in the playoff stages with the Goa side on the verge of missing the title race by a whisker.

After winning six and drawing four games in their 10 regular league games, where Churchill Brothers earned 22 points, the two-time I-League champions have managed just one win in their three play-off matches. Watch TRAU vs Churchill Brothers live!

Churchill Brothers are second with joint-25 points with league leaders TRAU FC. However, the Imphal-based club's superior goal difference of 11 will make them the champions should the standings hold.

Churchill Brothers will have their last shot at the I-League 2021 title on Sunday, where a win would see them leapfrog TRAU in the points table.

I-League 2021 new format

Owing to the pandemic, the I-League format was divided into two phases for the 2021 season. While the first phase (regular season) saw all the 11 teams play against each other once, the second phase (playoff stage) saw the teams divided into two groups (Group A and B) based on their points.

While Group A comprised the top six teams from the regular season, Group B had the bottom five teams. Both the groups will follow a round-robin format, but while Group A will determine the eventual champion, Group B will determine the teams to be relegated.

Only Sudeva Delhi FC and Indian Arrows will not be relegated. Sudeva Delhi is immune to relegation based on the corporate entry rule although the exemption is only for one season. Indian Arrows enjoy permanent immunity from relegation since they are a developmental team of the All India Football Federation (AIFF).

Where to watch TRAU vs Churchill Brothers live in India?

The I-League will be telecast live on 1Sports TV channel in India. The TRAU vs Churchill Brothers match on Sunday, March 21 will start at 2:00 PM IST.

Live streaming of TRAU vs Churchill Brothers will be available on the 1Sports Facebook page.

I-League champions list

Five different clubs have won the I-League in the last five seasons. Here’s the complete winners list:

2019-20 Mohun Bagan

2018-19 Chennai City

2017-18 Minerva Punjab

2019-20 Mohun Bagan

2018-19 Chennai City

2017-18 Minerva Punjab

2016-17 Aizawl

2015-16 Bengaluru FC

2014-15 Mohun Bagan

2013-14 Bengaluru

2012-13 Churchill Brothers

2011-12 Dempo

2010-11 Salgaocar

2009-10 Dempo

2008-09 Churchill Brothers

2007-08 Dempo

Feature Image Courtesy: Twitter/ I-League

This Ad is not available for you.