This Ad is not available for you.

New South Wales look to defend Sheffield Shield title vs Queensland in final

This Ad is not available for you.

Table-toppers Queensland are set to take on defending champions New South Wales in the 2020-21 Sheffield Shield final at the Allan Border Field in Queensland between April 15-19.

The two teams have already crossed swords once in the competition, with the match ending in a draw. Nathan Lyon starred for New South Wales as the spinner picked six wickets, including that of Usman Khawaja and Jimmy Peirson in the match. 

Of the eight matches that the two teams have played in the 2020-21 Sheffield Shield season, Queensland won three and lost one, while New South Wales have won thrice with two defeats. 

With Australia cricket coach Justin Langer most likely to be one of the spectators, the Sheffield Shield final is bound to be a platform for some of the country’s fringe players who are looking to get into the Test squad. This includes the likes of Queensland captain Usman Khawaja, Matthew Renshaw and Kurtis Patterson.

There has been a lot of shuffling in the teams due to the ongoing 2021 Indian T20 League. As a result, New South Wales have included 19-year-old leg-spinner Tanveer Sangha in the team. 

Queensland, on their part, welcome Jack Wildermuth after the all-rounder had withdrawn from the squad for the final few games to be at the birth of his first child.

Queensland vs New South Wales Sheffield Shield final full squads

Queensland squad: Usman Khawaja (captain), Xavier Bartlett, Joe Burns, Brendan Doggett, Marnus Labuschagne, Michael Neser, Jimmy Peirson (wicket-keeper), Matthew Renshaw, Billy Stanlake, Bryce Street, Mitchell Swepson, Jack Wildermuth

New South Wales squad: Kurtis Patterson (captain), Sean Abbott, Harry Conway, Trent Copeland, Jack Edwards, Matthew Gilkes (wk), Josh Hazlewood, Lachlan Hearne, Baxter Holt (wk), Daniel Hughes, Nathan Lyon, Peter Nevill (wk), Jason Sangha, Tanveer Sangha, Mitchell Starc

What if the Sheffield Shield final ends in a draw?

If the 2020-21 Sheffield Shield final ends in a draw, the winner will be determined by the bonus points system. It states that a team will be awarded 0.01 bonus points for each run scored above 200 in the first 100 overs of each innings. Meanwhile, 0.1 bonus points will be given for each wicket within those 100 overs.

Queensland captain Usman Khawaja isn’t happy about the rule. 

“I’m not a big proponent of it because I think the advantage has gone for the team that’s come first,” Khawaja was quoted saying by FOX Sports.

“You work hard all year to come first; there should be a slightly more advantage. The team that gets more bonus points in the first-innings potentially can win the game, which is a bit silly in my book.

“But I do think it’s going to be a result-game, so I don’t think it’ll be a big issue because I think there’ll be a result.”

The 2020-21 Sheffield Shield final will not be broadcast or live streamed in India. The match will start at 5:00 AM IST on April 15.

However, SportsAdda will bring the Sheffield Shield final live scores.

Featured photo: Twitter / @cricketcomau

This Ad is not available for you.