This Ad is not available for you.

Jasprit Bumrah keeps his shirt on despite jersey gaffe in WTC final - Twitter reacts

This Ad is not available for you.

India’s premier pacer Jasprit Bumrah is often used to making headlines with his deadly bowling. However, in the ongoing World Test Championship (WTC) final between India and New Zealand, he found himself in the spotlight for the wrong reasons.

At the start of the fifth day of the WTC final, as the New Zealand cricket team resumed batting Bumrah came out onto the field wearing a regular Test jersey, -- displaying sponsor BYJU’S -- instead of the WTC final jersey which has INDIA imprinted in bold letters.

The rule says that for any International Cricket Council (ICC) event, the country’s name should always be mentioned in the centre.

Bumrah, who has not been in the best of form of late, realised his mistake after bowling his first over and by the time he went to the dressing room and returned with the correct jersey, social media erupted.

Jasprit Bumrah bowled 26 overs in the first innings and conceded 57 runs. He didn’t pick a single wicket despite conditions that have tested the batsmen.

India batted first and scored 217 in their first innings. The Kiwis responded with 249 in what has been a rain-marred WTC final. Mohammed Shami and Ishant Sharma picked up seven wickets between them, while the spinners cleaned up the rest.

Featured photo : Saeed Khan / AFP

This Ad is not available for you.