This Ad is not available for you.

Indian cricket team to play 19 Test matches in WTC 2021-23

The Virat Kohli-led Indian cricket team will start the second edition of the World Test Championship (WTC) 2021-23 with the upcoming five-match Test series against England starting August 4.

Team India is scheduled to play six bilateral series, three home and three away, just like the other eight Test nations in WTC 2.

While India will host Sri Lanka, New Zealand and Australia, the last edition’s runners-up will also travel to Bangladesh and South Africa, apart from their forthcoming England Test series.

Like the first edition of the WTC cycle, India is not scheduled to play Pakistan in the second cycle.

Interestingly, India had topped the league stage of the inaugural edition of the WTC, with 12 wins from 17 matches. Virat Kohli and his men had finished with 520 points which were 100 points more than second-placed New Zealand.

Team India defeated West Indies (2-0), South Africa (3-0), Bangladesh (2-0), Australia (2-1) and England 3-1 while only losing to New Zealand (0-2) to book their place in the final.

However, India suffered an eight-wicket defeat against the Kane Williamson-led New Zealand cricket team in the maiden WTC final.

Indian cricket team’s WTC 2021-2023 schedule and fixtures


2 Tests vs New Zealand

3 Tests vs Sri Lanka

4 Tests vs Australia


5 Tests vs England

3 Tests vs South Africa

2 Tests vs Bangladesh

The schedule and fixtures will be updated when more information is available.

Featured photo: PUNIT PARANJPE / AFP

This Ad is not available for you.