This Ad is not available for you.

India tour of Australia: Andrew Tye replaces Kane Richardson for ODIs & T20Is

This Ad is not available for you.

Right-arm pacer Andrew Tye has replaced Kane Richardson in Australia's One Day Internationals (ODIs) and T20I squads for the upcoming white-ball series against India.

In a statement, Cricket Australia (CA) said that Richardson has withdrawn from the squad to be with his wife and their newborn son in Adelaide.

"It was a difficult decision for Kane to make but one which has the complete support of the selectors and the entire playing squad," CA national selector Trevor Hohns said on Wednesday.

"Kane wanted to remain in Adelaide with Nyki and their newborn son. We will always support our players and their families; even more so given the challenging environment, we are in. We will miss what he brings to the team but completely understand and support his decision," he added.

Tye was part of the Rajasthan squad in the recently concluded Indian T20 League and was also part of the Australia squad which went to England for a limited-overs series earlier in the year. 

The Perth Scorchers fast bowler has played seven ODIs and 26 T20Is, claiming 12 and 37 wickets, respectively.

Australia will play three ODIs against India at the Sydney Cricket Ground (November 27, 29) and Manuka Oval, Canberra (December 2). Both the teams will also compete in three T20Is at Manuka Oval, Canberra (December 4) and the SCG (December 6, 8).

Meanwhile, Cricket Australia undertook a mass airlift of players from across the country following the pandemic outbreak in Adelaide which forced local administration to impose heavy restrictions in the city.

“CA has taken a proactive approach and mobilized a number of people across the country over the past 24 hours to shore up our men’s domestic and international schedules, Nick Hockley, Cricket Australia’s interim chief executive said. “CA will continue to monitor the situation in South Australia and the resulting border restrictions around the country.”

Australia ODI & T20 squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins (vc), Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, Andrew Tye, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Feature image courtesy: AFP / Ian Kington

This Ad is not available for you.