This Ad is not available for you.

Shikhar Dhawan to lead 20-member India squad in Sri Lanka series

Shikhar Dhawan has been named captain of the Indian cricket team for the limited overs series against Sri Lanka that starts on July 13. Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been named the vice-captain.

India’s full-strength squad is currently in England for the World Test Championship final and subsequently the long tour of England for a five-match Test series. 

A second-string Team India, comprising 20 players, have been picked for three One Day Internationals and as many Twenty20 internationals on the tour to the island nation. 

A bunch of fresh faces adorn the new-look India squad for the Sri Lanka tour that includes Chetan Sakariya, Devdutt Padikkal, Nitish Rana, and Ruturaj Gaikwad. The youngsters have been selected for their brilliant performances in the domestic circuit as well as the Indian T20 league over the last two editions.

The Indian squad also has seasoned campaigners in the mix like Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya and Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

While left-arm pacer Sakariya has been plying his trade for Saurashtra in the domestic circuit and was a Ranji Trophy winner in the 2019-20 season, he was the find for Team Rajasthan in the Indian T20 League. Similarly, 20-year old Padikkal has shown tremendous promise and form for his home side Karnataka, he has also made heads turn with his performances for Virat Kohli’s men in Team Bangalore.

Varun Chakravarthy, who was earlier picked for the Australia and England series but got injured later, has also received the call-up. Dashing opener Prithvi Shaw has also made the cut in the 20-man squad. 

Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh have been named as net bowlers.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) are yet to make a formal announcement about the coach. However, it is believed that it will be Rahul Dravid who will be entrusted with the responsibility of working with the new lot alongside his Under-19 support staff.

India squad for Sri Lanka tour 2021

Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya.

Net bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh.

Featured photo : Punit Paranjpe / AFP

This Ad is not available for you.