This Ad is not available for you.

Spinners dominate top 10 list for most wickets in T20 cricket

This Ad is not available for you.

Former West Indies captain Dwayne Bravo currently holds the record for picking the most wickets in T20 cricket.

The right-arm medium pacer has bagged 551 wickets in 507 matches at an average of 24.25 and an economy of 8.20. He is the first and the only cricketer to reach 500 wickets in the T20 format.

Apart from playing for the West Indies cricket team, Bravo has donned the jersey of several franchises in the Indian T20 League, Caribbean Premier League, Big Bash, Vitality T20 Blast and Bangladesh Premier League. 

Since making his T20I debut against New Zealand in 2006, Bravo has been a vital cog in the West Indies team in the shortest format of the game, winning the ICC World T20 titles in 2012 and 2016.

In his stellar T20 career, the Trinidad and Tobago-born cricketer has claimed the most wickets for Team Chennai in the Indian T20 League, picking 165 wickets in 151 matches at an impressive average of 24.31.

Bravo is followed by West Indies all-rounder Sunil Narine, South Africa leggie Imran Tahir, Afghanistan's Rashid KhanSri Lanka legend Lasith Malinga and Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, who recently became the highest wicket-taker in T20Is.

Along with Bravo, Tahir and Narine are the only two bowlers to take 400 plus T20 wickets. 

Interestingly, when T20 cricket was introduced by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) in 2003, it was believed that spinners would be clobbered all around the park in the shortest format of the game.

However, since the inception of T20, spinners have played an important role in most games. Five spinners are currently in the top 10 list for most wickets in T20 cricket.

Most wickets in T20 cricket

Player Matches Wickets Best Figures Average Economy
Dwayne Bravo 507 551 5/23 24.25 8.20
Sunil Narine 383 425 5/19 20.27 6.04
Imran Tahir 334 420 5/23 19.79 6.96
Rashid Khan 284 392 5/3 17.62 6.35
Lasith Malinga 295 390 6/7 19.68 7.07
Shakib Al Hasan 346 389 6/6 21.41 6.84
Sohail Tanvir 361 373 6/14 25.16 7.39
Wahab Riaz 303 361 5/8 21.93 7.36
Shahid Afridi 326 344 5/7 22.63 6.74
Andre Russell 382 340 5/15 25.55 8.41

Featured photo: NOAH SEELAM / AFP

This Ad is not available for you.