This Ad is not available for you.

Longest winning streak in ODI cricket: Australia women break 18-year-old record

This Ad is not available for you.

The Australian women’s cricket team, led by Meg Lanning, broke the 18-year-old record for most consecutive wins in ODI cricket when it got the better of New Zealand women by six wickets on Sunday, April 4, in the first of the three-match series. 

The victory over New Zealand women was Australia women’s 22nd consecutive win in One Day Internationals, going past Ricky Ponting’s Australian men's team, who had won 21 games on the trot in 2003, which covered the 2003 Cricket World Cup. The streak was later stretched to 24 games when they defeated the aforementioned team 3-0 in the ODI series. Australia women’s last defeat in ODI cricket came on October 29, 2017, when they lost to England women by 20 runs.

Australian women’s record-breaking run started in March 2018 against India when they won the series 3-0. This was followed by clean sweeps over Pakistan women (3-0), New Zealand women (3-0), England women (3-0), West Indies women (3-0), Sri Lanka women (3-0), New Zealand women (3-0) before holding a 1-0 advantage in the ongoing ODI series.

“It’s a great achievement from this group, over a long period of time,” Australian captain Meg Lanning said. “Those wins have come over three years, which I just think shows how consistent we’ve been in this format. It’s certainly a great achievement and something we’ll look back on, I guess.”

While the world record took three years, the pandemic however wiped out most of the international cricket during the 2020 season. 

Alyssa Healy, who scored 65 in the first ODI, is one of the four players alongside Beth Mooney, Rachael Haynes and Ashleigh Gardner to have played in all of the 22 ODIs for Australia women. 

During the course, opener Alyssa Healy has scored 1287 runs at an average of 57.00. This includes her maiden ODI century against India in Baroda. Her blistering 133 had then guided Australia to 332/7, which was their first 300-plus total since 2012.

As far as bowling is concerned, Jess Jonassen has picked 43 wickets, which is the best return by any bowler during what has been the longest winning streak in ODI cricket. 

Meanwhile, Ellyse Perry may have picked fewer wickets (26) than Jonassen, but she holds the record of best bowling figures during the run. During the third ODI of the 2019 Ashes, the star all-rounder went on to pick 7/22 in her 10 overs as England women were bundled out for their lowest total (75) against Australia.

Most consecutive wins in ODI cricket

Team Matches Year
Australia Women23* 24* 2018-21
Australia Men 21 2003
Australia Women 17 1997-99
Australia Women 16 1999-00
India Women 16 2016-17

*ongoing streak

Feature image courtesy: Twitter / @cricketcomau

This Ad is not available for you.