This Ad is not available for you.

Punjab vs Delhi: Key stats from the second highest successful chase in Mumbai

KL Rahul’s Team Punjab played yet another high-scoring match in the 2021 Indian T20 League, but this time ended up on the losing side as Delhi successfully chased 196 inside 19 overs on Sunday, April 18 at the Wankhede Stadium.

Punjab were put in to bat first and made a blistering start through KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal who forged a 122-run partnership in 12 overs. Their middle-order batsmen did enough to take the mantle from there as Punjab posted 195/4 in 20 overs.

Like their opponent, Delhi too made full use of the field restriction in the powerplay overs as they went on to score 62/1 during the phase. Shikhar Dhawan anchored Delhi’s chase and for the second time in three outings, he failed to convert his knock in a century, this time falling a mere eight runs short. But with the foundation laid, Marcus Stoinis and Lalit Yadav did the rest to take home the win for Delhi. This was the second-highest successful chase at Mumbai in the Indian T20 League in terms of the target to win.

A high scoring game as this is bound to produce some interesting statistics, and here we look at a few of them.

Rahul and Agarwal setting the stage

The duo of KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal has been in blazing form in the Indian T20 League since last season. Their 122-run partnership yesterday was their fourth century-run stand in the league. This was also their fifth-best opening wicket stand for Punjab in the league.

Both players went on to score fifty. For Agarwal, it was his eighth half-century in the Indian T20 League, while Rahul went on to score his 23rd. For Punjab alone, Rahul has scored 21 fifty-plus scores which is the joint-most fifty-plus score for the team in the Indian T20 League.

Century stands between KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal in Indian T20 League
Partners Runs Wicket Opponent Venue Date
KL Rahul, M Agarwal 114 2nd Hyderabad Mohali 8 April 2019
KL Rahul, M Agarwal 183 1st Rajasthan Sharjah 27 September 2020
KL Rahul, M Agarwal 115 1st Kolkata Abu Dhabi 10 October 2020
KL Rahul, M Agarwal 122 1st Delhi Mumbai 18 April 2021

Rahul seemed like he was on the back seat during the first six overs as he could only muster 23 runs in 24 deliveries. Between 7-15 overs though, he upped the ante and went on to score 38 runs in 26 balls.

Dhawan surpasses Virat Kohli

During the chase, Dhawan went on to score 92, which is now his joint fifth-best individual score in the Indian T20 League. Yesterday’s knock was his 43rd fifty and 45th fifty-plus score in the league. With that, he surpassed Bangalore captain Virat Kohli in the list of most fifty-plus scores in the league. Hyderabad’s David Warner still tops the list with as many as 53 fifty-plus scores.

Most fifty-plus scores in Indian T20 League
Player Matches Runs 100 50 50+
David Warner 145 5347 4 49 53
Shikhar Dhawan 179 5383 2 43 45
Virat Kohli 195 5949 5 39 44
AB de Villiers 172 4974 3 39 42
Suresh Raina 195 5430 1 39 40
Rohit Sharma 203 5324 1 39 40

Out of his 43 fifties in the Indian T20 League, 15 have come as a Delhi batsman and both of his centuries in the league have also come in a Delhi shirt. With that, he also surpassed Shreyas Iyer in the most fifty-plus scores for Delhi.

Dhawan scored a whopping 69.57% of his total runs through boundaries (64/92) and this is the second-most by a batsman in this season.

Mohammed Shami’s evident struggle

Punjab pacer Mohammed Shami was taken to the cleaners by almost every Delhi batsman. The veteran bowler conceded 53 runs in his four overs. He also bowled two no-balls and 10 runs were scored from the eventual free hits. Shami ended his night without a wicket and with an economy of 13.25, which was the second-worst figure among Punjab bowlers.

Most runs conceded by Shami in Indian T20 League
Runs Wickets Opponent Venue Date
53 0 Delhi Wankhede Stadium 18 April 2021
53 1 Bangalore M. Chinnaswamy Stadium 24 April 2019
53 3 Rajasthan Sharjah Cricket Ground 27 September 2020
53 1 Kolkata Eden Gardens 16 April 2018
50 0 Pune Arun Jaithley Stadium 4 May 2016
46 2 Rajasthan IS Bindra Stadium 16 April 2019

On an individual front, this was Shami’s joint-most expensive spell in the Indian T20 League. From an overall perspective, this was the joint fifth most expensive spell by a bowler against Delhi in the league.

Featured photo: Twitter / IPL

This Ad is not available for you.